CHOCOLATE HONEY CREAM CARAMELS with pecans and sea salt

Chocolate Honey Cream Caramels topped with pecans and sea salt

This is my first post with WordPress. Just when I got comfortable with blogger.com, I’m onto a new beginning with WordPress. I look forward to exploring how WordPress works.

You can view my prior blog, Baking is my Zen, on blogger.com, which includes many recipe photo tutorials. The Baking is my Zen link on blogger.com is http://bakingismyzen.blogspot.com.

 Starting February 1st, 2012, the blog link on WordPress for my blog, Baking is my Zen is http://bakingismyzen.wordpress.com

 Making confections will be in my repertoire of culinary endeavors going forward. Yes, baking is my first passion. However, making candy is so much fun! You can see my post for Honey Cream Caramels located on my blog, Baking is my Zen, at blogger.com.

The Honey Cream Caramel recipe can be adjusted by adding chocolate…which is today’s recipe.

 My opinion: The addition of chocolate in the caramel recipe reminds me of a tootsie roll. There is more of a fudgy texture, not a caramel one in this recipe. I do like it. But, I prefer to enjoy the Honey Cream Caramels without the chocolate.

 Since I love pecans, I’ll always find a way to add it anywhere I can. I have added pecans and sea salt. I love sweet n’ salty.

It’s a ying and yang flavor profile that is fabulous.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

 CHOCOLATE HONEY CREAM CARAMELS

with pecans and sea salt

from The Sweet Melissa Baking Book by Melissa Murphy

Adapted by Carmen Ortiz of Baking is my Zen

Chocolate Honey Cream Caramels topped with pecans and sea salt~

Makes 2 1/2 pounds Caramel
(Enough for sixteen 2-inch squares or sixty-four 1-inch squares)

INGREDIENTS:
1 cup light corn syrup
1/3 cup clover honey
2 1/3 cups sugar
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
2 cups heavy cream
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped
Oil spray (PAM)– for pan and knives
½ cup pecans, toasted and chopped
Sea Salt

EQUIPMENT:
8 x 8 x 2 inch square pan
Airtight container
Candy thermometer
Chef’s (or Cook’s) knife
Heat resistant spatula
knife
Large heavy-bottomed saucepan (3 to 4 quart size)
Parchment paper

BEFORE YOU START:
Cut parchment paper to line the pan. Allow enough paper to extend over all four sides.

Lightly spray the parchment lined 8 x 8 x 2 -inch square pan with PAM oil spray.

Dab it with a paper towel to remove any excess oil.

Sprinkle the pan with a layer of toasted, chopped pecans and some sea salt.

Chop the chocolate in small pieces.

Note: I melt the chocolate before adding it to the caramel. I start melting the chocolate in the microwave when the caramel is about 230 degrees.

DIRECTIONS:
(TIP: Before adding honey and corn syrup in measuring cup, spray cup very lightly with PAM oil spray. This makes removal very easy. )

  1. In a large, nonreactive, heavy-bottomed saucepan over medium heat, combine the corn syrup, honey, sugar, salt, heavy cream, and butter.
  2. Cook, stirring the caramel continuously (using heat resistant spatula), until the mixture reaches 248°F on a candy thermometer (firm-ball stage).
  3. Heat the chopped chocolate in the mircrowave till smooth. Start melting the chocolate in the microwave when the caramel is about 230 degrees.
  4. Remove the caramel from the heat at  248°F.
    Stir in the vanilla.
  5. Stir in the melted chocolate (or you can add the chocolate chopped).
  6. Pour the caramel into the prepared pan.
  7. Sprinkle the top with some more pecans and a pinch of sea salt.
  8. Set aside, uncovered, in a cool place to firm up. (Best if left to firm up overnight)
  9. When firm, loosen the edges of the pan with a knife.
  10. Lift the chocolate caramel out by the parchment flaps.
  11. Turn out onto a clean work surface and, using a lightly oiled chef’s knife, cut into strips, then into squares.
  12. Wrap each square in parchment paper, twisting the ends.
  13. The caramels keep in an airtight container in a cool dry place for 2 weeks.

Chocolate Honey Cream Caramels topped with pecans and sea salt~~

Peace in Baking,

 Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: My photography is NOT TO BE USED WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Confectionery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CHOCOLATE HONEY CREAM CARAMELS with pecans and sea salt

  1. KAL says:

    Hi,

    Thanks for commenting on my TWD post. I followed your link and found myself at this amazing site! Your photos are AMAZING! I just bookmarked you so that I can try some of your other creations. I am super impressed! Thanks for sharing. Karen

Comments are closed.