TWD: Baking with Julia: IRISH SODA BREAD

Fourth post with the group,

Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia,

and this week’s recipe is Irish Soda Bread.

This recipe is from the book,

Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.

The contributing baker for this recipe is Marion Cunningham.

 Bread…what’s not to love…

This is such a simple recipe, even a child can make it. It’s that simple.

 I like to shake things up a bit in my recipes.  Added chopped craisins and chopped roasted walnuts.

Slight snafu while baking…after mixing the dough and forming it, I noticed the craisins and walnuts were left behind. Oh no! I wanted these additions. So, I sprinkled both items on the dough, folded the dough over once. Mission accomplished. Smiles all around.

 Proceeded to cut an ‘X’ in the middle of the dough, then placed in a greased glass pie dish. Finally, off to the oven to bake.

 Happy with the results…recipe is a keeper.

Note: I wrapped the bread in plastic wrap. Next day, it was still soft…not hard at all…

 Whenever I bake bread, I love to dip it in herbed oil…so delish!

 The Irish Soda Bread recipe can be found on page 214.

The host bakers (where recipe can be found) are:

 Host baker: Carla

Blog: Chocolate Moosey

http://chocolatemoosey.blogspot.com/

Host baker: Cathleen

Blog: My CulinaryMission

http://myculinarymission.blogspot.com/

Also, check out the other bakers’ blogs.

Next up, is Pizza Rustica, a recipe by Nick Malgieri. Stop back on April 3rd.

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Breads, Breakfast, Holidays, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: IRISH SODA BREAD

  1. Your bread looks great! I love to use herbed oil too. If you ever make pizza at home, it is great to spread on the dough before you put on the sauce and cheese!

  2. Your bread looks great and so delicious! I love your photos, I can see why you have to keep telling people not to steal them!

    Amanda
    http://girlplusfood.blogspot.com/2012/03/twd-irish-soda-bread.html

  3. Hornedfroggy says:

    Beautiful loaf, Carmen! Job well done! :)

  4. heathersbytes says:

    Beautiful! I love the idea of dipping this in herbed oil!

  5. Karen @ SoupAddict says:

    That’s a beautiful photo! I always love how soda bread turns out – all craggly and crusty and gluten-stretchy. :)

  6. Great step-by-step pictures! I’m sure your bread was delicious!

  7. The only thing that matters is that you remembered to add the mix-ins before popping it in the oven. Kudos to you!

  8. Teresa says:

    Nice job. The herbed oil sounds like a cultural link between this recipe and the next – from Irish to Italian!

  9. Wendy says:

    Your irish bread looks delicious! I loved the simplicity of it.

  10. Kris Barlow says:

    This is a fun recipe to dress up a bit…craisins and toasted walnuts sound delightful…Glad you got your additions in.

  11. I love all of your cool pictures! Your bread looks rustic and delicious!

  12. hkinnaird says:

    What beautiful pictures – really looking forward to the next TWD!

  13. I had that same “oh no” moment when I saw the bag of currants I’d forgotten to put in mine! I didn’t dare go back and try to add them tho…oh well…next time. Looks like a tasty loaf!

  14. jane says:

    It looks great, I continue to find your pictures inspiring!!! ( trying again to leave a message for you
    quirkybaker.wordpress.com )

  15. Such beautiful photos, as always, Carmen! I loved that you wrapped your loaf in a towel. :)

  16. bygore says:

    Enjoyed reading your blog; check out mine if you get a minute. The Irish Soda Bread was quite possibly the simplest bread ever. I used Craisins in mine, but next time I’ll be making the standard version to serve with home make soup or stew.

    Bon Appetit ~
    bygore.wordpress.com

  17. Jill says:

    It looks lovely, and sounds delicious dipped in herbed oil!

  18. Your bread looks great and as always love, love your pictures! :)
    isthisakeeper.wordpress.com

  19. Great idea to dip in herbed oil…love the stuff! Beautifully done!

  20. cookingjulia says:

    Your pictures look great!

  21. Drives me crazy when I leave out an ingredient! Sometimes when you make a change because of a forgotten item you make a great new discovery, which it sounds like what happen to you. Can’t wait to try it with craisins and walnut also a go to add in for me. Beautiful blog!
    Karen
    http://moonlightbakers.wordpress.com/

  22. Libby says:

    I also forgot to add the raisins with the buttermilk but I was afraid to add it in when the dough was already mixed! Too bad I chickened out!! I did make the bread again and thankfully remembered the raisins:)

    I also love your photos! Your blog looks great!
    Libby
    http://ifyoubakeittheywillcome.wordpress.com/2012/03/24/irish-soda-bread-2/

Comments are closed.