Big and Chewy Oatmeal-Cranberry Cookies ~ For My Mom on Mother’s Day

It’s Mother’s Day today. Love you Mom!

Mama’s Song
Music Video ~ Carrie Underwood

My beautiful mom loves Oatmeal Cookies. So, I found a recipe posted on a blog called Norah’s Menus and Recipes.

It’s a recipe by America’s Test Kitchen. I made a few adjustments. I used cranberries instead of raisins. Used cinnamon instead of nutmeg and added vanilla extract and walnuts.

To preserve the soft and chewiness of the cookies, I individually wrap each cookie in plastic wrap.

BIG AND CHEWY

OATMEAL-CRANBERRY COOKIES

The Complete America’s Test Kitchen TV Show Cookbook
Norah’s Menus and Recipes
Adapted by Carmen Ortiz of Baking is my Zen

1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg (Instead, I used 2 teaspoons cinnamon)
16 tablespoons (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract (my addition)
3 cups old-fashioned oats
1 1/2 cups raisins (Instead, I used 1 cup craisins)
1 cup chopped walnuts (my addition)

Oven temperature: 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk the flour, salt, baking powder, and cinnamon in a medium bowl; set aside.

Beat the butter and sugars at medium speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Scrape down bowl.

Add eggs, one at a time, and mix until combined, about 30 seconds. Scrape down bowl.

Add vanilla extract. Mix to combine.

Decrease speed to low and slowly add the dry ingredients until combined, about 30 seconds.

Mix in the oats, craisins and walnuts until just incorporated.

Chill dough for a hour or more. I chill overnight. ( chilling is OPTIONAL)

Using large ice cream scooper, scoop cookie dough on parchment lined baking sheet.

Space cookies about 2 inches apart.

Bake, switching and rotating the sheets halfway through the baking time, until the cookies turn golden brown around the edges, 22-25 minutes. (My cookies were done in 20 minutes) (SECRET TO CHEWY COOKIES: Don’t overbake)

Cool the cookies on the baking sheet for 2 minutes.

Using a wide metal spatula, transfer the cookies to a wire rack.

Cool to room temperature.

Wrap individually in plastic wrap to keep cookie texture chewy.

Enjoy!

To all moms…have a wonderful day!

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Celebrations, Cookies, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Big and Chewy Oatmeal-Cranberry Cookies ~ For My Mom on Mother’s Day

  1. Beautiful cookies! This recipe is now on my “must make” list! Thanks for sharing. My husband’s absolute favorite is Oatmeal Raisin – chewy!

  2. Wendy says:

    Those cookies look amazing. I’ll have to make them. Your Mom must have loved them!

  3. I love how big and thick your cookies look. I bet they are delicious with the cranberries and I am sure your mom enjoyed them.

  4. Big and chewy cookies are the best. Happy Mother’s Day!

  5. I have just dicovered your blog and I am going to enjoy reading through your archives. I looove big, chunky cookies and these look amazing!

  6. What a delicious cookie recipe! I am printing this one and making them this weekend for my kids!

  7. Hi friend! What delicious cookies your recipe made. Thank you so much. My grandkids are going to LOVE them! http://praycookblog.com/2012/05/chewy-and-craisin-oatmeal-raisin-cookies/

Comments are closed.