TWD:Baking with Julia: French Strawberry Cake

This week’s recipe selection for the baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia,
is French Strawberry Cake (pages 273-274). The Genoise Cake recipe is on pages 39-40.

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe Flo Braker.

Host bakers are: (recipes can be found on their blogs)

Sophia of Sophia’s Sweets
http://sophiasbaking.blogspot.com/

Allison of Sleep Love Think Dine
http://thinklovesleepdine.blogspot.com/

I was excited to try this recipe. I’ve made genoise cake before and loved it. However, this recipe took a different turn with the process of making the genoise cake. It didn’t work out for me…twice! When I inverted the genoise cake out of the pan, it had a thick, uncooked appearance. Apparently, not a success.

I opted to not make this cake again. I prefer to make genoise the traditional way; namely, heating the eggs and sugar before beating them.

I look forward to seeing this cake made by the other TWD:BWJ bakers.

Life has been so busy for me lately, I will not be posting a baking tip. Next time…

FOLLOWUP: THIRD TRY

7/21/12

I made the French Strawberry Cake for the third time, using the genoise cake technique per the author, Flo Braker. At first, it seemed like I nailed it. But, when I cut into the decorated cake, the bottom layer was tough. So,there was only 50% success here.

I tried. The revamped recipe technique for  the genoise cake by Flo Baker is not a keeper for me.

I did not cut it in thirds. I used an 8-inch pan, as indicated in the recipe, but this made for a cake lacking height. So, cutting it into thirds seemed fruitless.

I did not add sour cream to the whip cream.  It didn’t seem justifiable to buy a container for only 2 tablespoons. I did, however, increase the amount of heavy cream to 2 cups. Added confectioners sugar instead of granulated sugar.

Going forward, I will use a genoise cake recipe using the ‘classic’ technique.  Will make it in a smaller pan, with higher sides, like a 6-inch pan.

This cake makes for a pretty dessert when piped with cream and dispersed with strawberries throughout.

Below is the process of cooling, cutting and decorating the French Strawberry Cake.

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Cakes, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, French Desserts, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to TWD:Baking with Julia: French Strawberry Cake

  1. This is so funny! My cake looked just like that when I took it out, I thought it was because I used a 9″ pan instead of 8″! I made my cake and loved it. I am now thinking maybe it should have been puffier and maybe it wasn’t the success I thought it was :)

  2. g2-1e1ff72c52f978b6561073dccbb2420a says:

    So sad…I didn’t make the cake, not so much because it looked difficult (it didn’t) but because I’d have to figure out how to transport it to work so there would be people besides me to eat it! I really don’t want to invest in a cake carrier, since I rarely make cake, much less make it to take somewhere.

    Sad also your cake didn’t turn out, especially twice, and even more so since you’ve used a different method with success before.

  3. WordPress hates me. diane @ ginosko

  4. Hmm…heating the eggs and sugar….I’ll have to try that next time. Or, maybe I’ll try Julia’s own version.

  5. So sorry it didn’t work out for you. I tried to salvage mine… it tasted okay, but it sure was ugly. :)

  6. food.baby says:

    Good on you for trying twice. Such a shame it didn’t work out. All those wasted ingredients!

  7. gaaarp says:

    My cake looked exactly like that! I foolishly tried to eat it.

  8. That is a bummer when it doesn’t turn out (I should know!) I am so interested in trying it the other way you talked about. Maybe I would like the cake better, it was just okay.

    Amanda
    http://www.girlplusfood.net/2012/06/twd-french-strawberry-cake.html

  9. Your cake looks like mine, Carmen. It still tasted good and not at all rubbery, but I do want to try making it again and hopefully with more success.

  10. So sorry it wasn’t successful! That is how I felt with my puffy naan :)

  11. Teresa says:

    Mine was quite short, too, but I was happy that it still tasted good, especially once it was soaked with strawberry juices. I will have to try a traditional genoise and see how I fare.

  12. I love that last photo of the book and the whisk – beautiful! You read my post so you know I did not have success with those one either. Oh well, on to the next thing right? :)

  13. Melissa says:

    My first one ended up in the trash. I told my husband not to even try being polite about how it tasted.

  14. Alice says:

    Yeah, I feel like that with my bread recipes, I look at other ones and use their ratios of ingredients but change the process to what I know is going to work best and give the best result since I am dubious to other methods since I read that they have varying degrees of success. :) It’s the best when you stick with the processes you know will work out! :) Great cake though!

  15. that’s too bad. maybe you can revisit this one using a tried and true genoise recipe in it’s place? berries, cream and cake is a good combo.

  16. Many thanks for having visited my blog.
    So sorry it did not work out for you. I’ve made “Pan di Spagna” many times (kind of same dough but with zero butter” and this “practice” helped me.
    Next time I make a Genoise I am going to make it in the double boiler to see the difference.
    Good luck for your next cake.

Comments are closed.