TWD: Baking with Julia: Hazelnut Biscotti…revamped

 A late post to the baking group…Life has been very, very busy lately…

The July 3rd recipe selection for the baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, was Hazelnut Biscotti (pages 315-316).

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is Alice Medrich.

I switched out the hazelnuts for walnuts and cranberries. Omitted the Frangelico. Instead, I increased the vanilla extract.

Host bakers: (recipes can be found on their blogs)

Jodi of Homemade and Wholesome

http://homemadeandwholesome.wordpress.com/2012/07/03/hazelnut-biscotti-twd/

Katrina of Baking and Boys

http://www.bakingandboys.com/2012/07/twdbaking-with-juliahazelnut-biscotti.html

Also, you can see the other bakers’ posts to view their creations.

http://tuesdayswithdorie.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/lyl-hazelnut-biscotti/

My computer died and I had to purchase a new one. It’s a laptop and there is no mouse. So, I’m forcing myself  not to use my wireless mouse…which I miss dearly.

BAKING TIP on BUTTER:

For baking purposes, it’s always best to use unsalted butter instead of salted butter.

Why? You can regulate the amount of salt that goes into your baking by using unsalted butter.

Salted V.S. Unsalted Butter:

http://culinaryarts.about.com/od/eggsdairy/p/butter.htm

“Most butters available in supermarkets have a small amount of salt added as a preservative. If you go through your butter reasonably quickly (like, you’ll use a pound of butter in less than a month), you shouldn’t have a problem with your butter going bad. If that’s the case, go ahead and buy unsalted or “sweet” butter. 

Furthermore, unsalted butter should always be used in baking. The reason for this is that salt toughens the glutens in flour. To ensure consistent results with various recipes, it’s best to avoid adding any more salt than what the recipe itself calls for.”

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Cookies, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Hazelnut Biscotti…revamped

  1. Cathleen says:

    Carmen, your biscotti looks delicious.

  2. Thanks for the salted v. unsalted tutorial!

  3. bakeawaywithme.com says:

    Your biscotti look absolutely wonderful! Glad that you were able to get these done!

    • Kathy, I’m slowing getting back on track with TWD baking…lots going on in my life.
      My dear, because of your post on the French Strawberry Cake, I’ll try it again…it will be the third attempt. Hope it works. As they say, third time is a charm. :)

      ~Carmen

  4. Carmen you photographs are beautiful! Of course I dare say your biscotti looks lovely. My sweet hubby has eaten all I made and this weekend I will make more using your variations! Thanks for sharing. Always better late than never! Blessings, Catherine http://www.praycookblog.com

  5. P.S. Did you buy a Mac? I just bought a new “mouse” which is actually a little square pad and I move my finger around the pad and it moves the cursor. Really wonderful! Glad you are back on line.

    • Catherine, I bought a Dell laptop, windows 7. I am used to using the wireless mouse, not the touch pad. But, I’m forcing myself to use the touch pad…Keeping up with technology. Still busy, but a lot has calmed down…so, back to baking… :)

      Carmen

Comments are closed.