SUGAR COOKIES K i D s love (no rolling pin needed)

Kids love cookies…especially Sugar Cookies.

Well, as a baker, I love these cookies too…simply because this version is SO EASY to make. Who can say ‘no’ to that? If you like soft and chewy cookies…well, search no further, this is the recipe you want.

My adorable nephew loves Sugar Cookies. I was beginning to form the dough into balls and place them on the sheet pan. He came in the kitchen and asked if he could help me form the cookies. I was happily surprised that he wanted to help. He washed his hands and eagerly awaited my instruction on how to form the dough. I guided him on the technique to shaping the dough into rounds successfully. He did it!

After rolling two of them, he lost interest. He wanted to go outside and play. Did you expect anything less from a child? It’s all about playtime with kids, ya’ know…as it should be.

Let’s go to the kitchen and bake these cookies . . .

SUGAR COOKIES

Adapted by Carmen Ortiz of Baking is my Zen

(Source: Savory Sweet Life which was adapted from Allrecipes.com)

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/4 cups white sugar
1 cup salted butter
3 egg yolks
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/4 teaspoon of salt

SUGAR TOPPING:
½ cup turbinado sugar (more if needed)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

DIRECTIONS:

Sugar Topping: In a bowl, add turbinado sugar. Set aside.

In a mixer, cream butter and sugar. (approximately 4-5 min)

Mix in egg yolks, one at a time.

Add vanilla extract.

In a bowl, sift flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt.

Add dry ingredients into butter mixture and mix until dough forms.

Scrape mixing bowl down to ensure even mixing.

Tear a sheet of wax or parchment paper. (about 12 inches or so)

Transfer dough onto wax paper. Wrap and chill for about 1 hour.

Remove dough from refrigerator. Unwrap.

Using a medium ice cream scooper or a spoon: scoop, form and drop each dough ball in the turbinado sugar.

Roll the dough in sugar.

Place cookie balls on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper –keep 2 inches apart.

Do NOT flatten the dough balls.

Bake at 350 degrees for 12-14 minutes until a crack-like texture appears on the surface of the cookies. Don’t over bake.

Remove from oven and allow cookies to remain on the cookie sheet for approximately 3 minutes.

Transfer cookies to a cooling rack.

After cooling, store in an airtight container.

Makes about 32 cookies. (depends on the size of the cookies)

If you want to try Lime-Sugar Cookies, you can add lime zest to the sugar topping. Or, go to my blog post on blogger, called, Lime-Sugar Cookies-No Rolling Pin Needed. The post includes a photo tutorial.

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Cookies, Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SUGAR COOKIES K i D s love (no rolling pin needed)

  1. Jeannie Tay says:

    Hi! I like the look of these cookies, your nephew is so adroable, my sons help me in the kitchen too sometimes:)
    Jeannie @ http://chinadoll-bakingdairy.blogspot.com/?m=0

  2. bakeawaywithme.com says:

    Carmen, Delicious looking cookies…I love the photo of your nephew rolling the dough….he is very cute!
    I’m also glad to hear you had success with Julia’s cake…I think some of the recipes in that book are not written clearly. Too many people with problems! Yeah for you…for trying again!

Comments are closed.