SKILLET PIZZA = NO OVEN

Too hot to fire up the oven?

You can make pizza in a skillet.

Yes, you read it correctly.

Check out this AWESOME post named, The Pizza Lab: Awesome Pizza Without An Oven (aka Skillet Pizza) Posted by J. Kenji López-Alt, March 13, 2012.

I first saw this recipe on a blog, by Stephanie B, called, This Little Monkey Went to Market. It looked so good and so simple, I HAD TO TRY it.

INGREDIENTS FOR
Skillet Neapolitan Pizza (No Kneading or Oven Required!)

by J. Kenji López-Alt 13, 2012March

Note: This technique can be used with your favorite pizza dough recipe or with store-bought dough. It works best with a blow torch or a gas burner, but an electric burner will work as well.

INGREDIENTS
makes 4 10-inch pizzas, active time 30 minutes, total time 1 day
16 ounces (about 3 cups plus 2 tablespoons) all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
.3 ounces (about 2 1/3 teaspoons) kosher salt, plus extra for assembly
.2 ounces (about 1 teaspoon) active dry yeast
12 ounces water
1 (14-ounce) can whole peeled Italian tomatoes packed in juice
1 (12 to 16-ounce) ball buffalo mozzarella or fresh cow’s milk mozzarella, at room temperature
4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Handful fresh basil leaves

FOR RECIPE DIRECTIONS visit the post by J. Kenji López-Alt. He is the Chief Creative Officer of Serious Eats.

I made two doughs. One using all-purpose flour and another using whole wheat flour.

Wheat dough proofing. What a beauty!

All-Purpose flour dough proofing…loveliness. I get excited when my dough rises successfully.


Skillet Pizza! Ready to enjoy!

I added anchovies, red pepper flakes and dried basil on my pizza. As you well know, the sky’s the limit with choice of toppings.
I used the broiler to achieve the char on the pizza.
Go for it…you deserve it…* smiles *

HOW ABOUT DESSERT? Gotta have dessert.


Bake up some Sugar Cookies. Recipe is on my wordpress blog post,
SUGAR COOKIES K i D s love (no rolling pin needed)

Enjoy the view of the geese while enjoying those Sugar Cookies.

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Breads, Pie, Savory and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SKILLET PIZZA = NO OVEN

  1. Your dough looks lovely! I too get excited when the dough starts rising. Now, if you will excuse me I am going back to the park bench to view the geese :) Thanks for sharing!

  2. No oven? Perfect for this heat!

  3. Or for when the air conditioner takes a vacation in the middle of 100 degree temps! Yeah, speaking from experience. Cool and happy again, Catherine

Comments are closed.