TWD: Baking with Julia: Blueberry-Nectarine Pie

Today’s recipe selection, 7/31/12, for the baking group,
Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, is
Blueberry-Nectarine Pie. (pages 384-385).

The flaky pie dough recipe can be found on pages 31-32.
Tips for a perfect pie dough are on pages 33-34.

The recipe can be found in the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is Leslie Mackie.

Host bakers: (recipes can be found on their blogs)

Hilary of Manchego’s Kitchen

Liz of That Skinny Chick Can Bake

Also, you can see the other bakers’ posts to view their creations.

My misstep when making the dough ~

Instead of using half of the pastry dough recipe as stated, I used the full pastry recipe. As I continued shaping the dough, I found it to be a lot of dough, but continued on. It was only after I baked it for the designated time and saw the dough was not thoroughly cooked. Then a light bulb went off in my head. Oh, sugar! I made a mistake! I proceeded to bake the pie until it was thoroughly baked.

About The Fruit ~
I love blueberries. But, in a pie, not so much…strange…I know. Please don’t judge. ;) However, the addition of nectarines was a good balance. Next time, I will cut the nectarines in larger pieces. I want the nectarines to have a ‘presence’ in this pie…especially since I love nectarines.

I washed the blueberries and drained them of water in a colander, then added them in a pan to cook. Next time, I will DRY the blueberries with a paper towel, then cook them. I should have realized the process of cooking fruit produces water. Strained out all the excess liquid. In the Baking Group’s discussion thread, Catherine of Pray Cook Blog mentioned the addition of a thickener, such as cornstarch to tighten the liquid. I agree. It needed tightening.

PRO of my baking mistake: baking lesson learned.
CON of my baking mistake: wasted ingredients.

In regards to taste, it was good.

Pie and vanilla bean ice cream…what’s not to like about this pair?

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

~ About a Fellow Blogger and TWD:BWJ Member ~

Catherine Daugherty
of

My Daily Bread Body and Soul
Pray…Cook…Blog

celebrated her blog’s 1st blogaversary on June 15, 2012.

To celebrate, she did a cookbook giveaway. And guess who won? Moi!
I won the book, Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan.

Her original cookbook giveaway was Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan. But, since I already owned it, she offered me another book.

In addition to the cookbook I won, Catherine sent me another cookbook she wrote called, “Walnut Grove Bed and Breakfast’.

She wrote this while an innkeeper, along with her husband Lee, at their Bed and Breakfast in Shelbyville, Tennessee.

How cool is that?

Catherine and Lee Daugherty
Innkeepers of
Walnut Grove Bed and Breakfast

Catherine serving her guests

Catherine’s blog is full of great recipes which include recipe photo tutorials. There is also a daily bible verse. Not only can you learn about nourishment for the body, you can learn about nourishment for the soul.

Stop by Catherine’s blog. She’s a great cook/baker and blogger.

My Daily Bread Body and Soul
Pray…Cook…Blog

BAKING TIP

To prevent syrup from sticking to cup:
Lightly spray measuring cup with oil spray.

Add corn syrup into cup.

After use, cleanup is easier.

Use same application when using honey.

Recipes on my Blogger.com posts in which I used this application:

Honey Cream Caramels ~ SMS (Sweet Melissa Sundays)

Salted Pumpkin Caramels ~ Fall Comfort

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Pie, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Blueberry-Nectarine Pie

  1. Dearest Carmen, how lucky for me that YOU won my cookbook drawing. What a beautiful post you created and I am so grateful. I am so thankful we have crossed paths and look forward to growing our friendship and baking with you! Thank you and many blessings ~ Catherine

  2. Despite the extra dough your pie looks gorgeous Carmen! The ice cream is such a perfect addition to it. Have a good day! Paula @ Vintage Kitchen

  3. Patty says:

    Your pie looks great. The thicker crust was probably easier to handle, I found it to be very soft.

  4. We love our pie crust here, so double the pie crust sounds really appealing! It looks really good. I really dislike using flour as a thickener in pies, so I used tapioca in my filling and it was not runny at all.

  5. Great post, but sorry about the wasted ingredients.

  6. bakeawaywithme.com says:

    Carmen, Your pie looks beautiful…you would never guess it had extra dough! Love your first photo…lovely! And congrats on winning the cookbooks!

  7. Congrats on winning the cookbook! And your pie looks great…I think my hubby would like if I made more crust :)

  8. Hi, it’s me again. I am trying hard to stop by each TWD blog posts. I just reached yours for a second time and I can’t pass by without saying … your pictures are some of the very, very best among us!

  9. It looks perfect! Your crust looks so flaky and delicious. You can never have too much crust, right? ;)
    Amanda
    http://www.girlplusfood.net/2012/07/twd-blueberry-nectarine-pie-with.html

  10. sanya says:

    Love your pics!
    And I’m with you about loving blueberries but not so much in pies!

  11. Your pie looks great…even with the extra dough!! ;) How cool to win the cookbook!!

  12. Teresa says:

    Halving a recipe can cause all sorts of problems. Luckily, it seems as though it worked out in the end, because your pie looks beautiful.

    Congratulations on winning the book! Does that mean you’ll be joining us over at French Fridays with Dorie?

    thefamilythatbakestogether.wordpress.com

    • Teresa, fortunately the pie did work out…I look forward to baking from the book I won, but will not be joining FF with Dorie…have other plans with my time. :)

      Carmen

Comments are closed.