TWD: Baking with Julia: Strawberry Galette

The recipe selection for the baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, is Berry Galette, page 377. The Galette Dough can be found on pages 371-372.

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is Flo Braker.

Host bakers: (recipes can be found on their blogs)

Lisa of Tomato Thymes in the Kitchen

Andrea of The Kitchen Lioness

Also, you can see the other bakers’ posts to view their Berry Galettes.

I soon discovered, I am not such a fan of baked strawberries. With that said, you know what’s coming…I didn’t care for the Strawberry Galette I baked.

Fruit juices oozing out of the dough wasn’t appealing. I know part of the appeal of a Galette IS the rustic look.. but…when the oozing is out of control, the rustic charm goes down several notches. And, yes, strawberries give off more liquid. My plan was to form the galette smaller. No dice. Spillage ensued like Niagara Falls.

 What’s more, this pastry recipe is not one I would keep. Oh my, what a travesty. I love pastry…the more the merrier, as far as I’m concerned. But not in this case.  This recipe just didn’t cut it for me. Didn’t care for the sour cream in the pastry dough…even my taste-testers weren’t impressed.

This recipe is called Berry Galette. Which means, berries are to be used. Recipe mentions the use of strawberries to be in moderation. Did I heed this advise? Nooo. Did you know that strawberries are NOT berries? I didn’t. Learn something everyday. Nothing like expanding the brain cells. ;) Read article here.

Can I share with you a recipe success in my kitchen, since today’s recipe was not? Yes? Ok. I’ll proceed. :) I made an Apple Crostata (adapted recipe from Ina Garten-Barefoot Contessa), and it was delish. I look forward to baking this apple dessert many times over in the Fall.

By the way, a Galette and a Crostata are the same. The first being of French origin, the latter, Italian origin. Hey, you say tomaaahto, I say tomaaayto… *grin*

GOOD NEWS:

I made POPOVERS, which is due for posting on 8/21/12 with the baking group TWJ:BWJ. Now, THIS is a good recipe. It’s so good, I made it twice.

Stop by in two weeks, (8/21/12), for the post on Popovers. A great recipe by Marion Cunningham. The Hosts listed below will post the recipe on their blogs.

Paula of Vintage Kitchen Notes

Amy of Bake With Amy

Popovers…a recipe I’m excited about…

 

~ BAKING TIP ~

PASTRY DOUGH TIPS

Source: King Arthur Flour

  • Cold ingredients produce the flakiest crust. Be sure to use very cold fat. In warm weather, chill the flour ahead.
  • Cut the fat in until your mixture resembles small peas or gravel. Do not overwork it. The more you incorporate the fat past that point, the less flaky your crust will be.
  • If you are making a double crust pie, it helps to have more dough for the bottom crust. Divide the dough in two, making one part slightly larger than the other.
  • Pastry handles better when chilled. Chill dough 30 to 40 minutes in the refrigerator before rolling.
  • You can chill pastry in the refrigerator for longer than 40 minutes. Wrapped well, it keeps for 2 or 3 days. If stored this long, let it sit at room temperature for 5 or 10 minutes before rolling to allow the dough to become more pliable.
  • Roll your pastry on a sheet of lightly floured wax paper or parchment. Invert the pastry right over the pan, or filling, and peel the paper off.
  • You can fix tears in pastry by pinching or pressing it back together. Large gaps can be patched with trimmings cut from the overhanging dough.
  • Don’t stretch the pastry when you are lining a pie pan with the bottom crust. Instead, ease the pastry into the pan, gently tucking it into the bottom crease.
  • For a luster finish, sparingly brush your top crust with cream just before baking. In addition, sprinkle a large pinch or two of sugar over the top for an extra bit of sweetness. Turbinado Sugar is best for this application….read on.

WHAT IS TURBINADO SUGAR?

Source: wisegeek.com

Turbinado sugar is a delicious alternative to table sugar. Unlike typical granulated sugar,Turbinado sugar crystals are much larger, and are made at an earlier period in the sugar cane processing method. It retains some of the flavor of molasses, a natural byproduct of the sugar process, which makes it a desirable addition to tea or coffee.

The first pressing of the sugar cane yields Turbinado sugar. It looks notably different from granulated sugar because it has much larger crystals and is golden to brown in color. It also is considered by some to be “healthier” since it receives less processing than does white sugar.

Unlike granulated sugar, Turbinado sugar tends to hold more moisture, and is lower in calories. A basic teaspoon of Turbinado sugar contains 11 calories, while granulated sugar contains 16. Because it is a little moister than white sugar, Turbinado sugar can become hardened if exposed to too much air. Those who manufacture turbinado sugar recommend storing it, like brown sugar, in an airtight container.

Some manufacturers refer to Turbinado sugar as raw sugar. It can be packaged and sold under numerous names, but one of the most popular of these is “Sugar in the Raw.” It is often sold in small single serving packages for use on restaurant tables, but with a little searching, one can find larger quantities of Turbinado sugar for sale.

~     ~     ~     ~     ~     ~     ~     ~

London Summer Olympics 2012 are still underway. The Summer Olympics began FridayJuly 27, 2012, and ends on August 12, 2012.

I love the swimming segment of the Olympics. My favorite moment was when Michael Phelps (Swimmer) won the Men’s 4x100m Medley Relay Final on August 4th. This makes it Mike’s 22nd Olympic Medal.

Loved watching him swim with such focus and yet with a quiet calm and assuredness.! He is an inspiration to all…

What did Michael Phelps accomplish at the 2012 Olympic Summer Games?

  • 51 Olympic swims
  • Swam nearly 10,000 meters and 198 lengths of the pool in Olympic races
  • Relay of August 4, 2012 was his 24th Olympic final
  • In addition to his 18 gold medals, Michael Phelps has also won two silver and two bronze medals.

Michael Phelps is the Greatest Olympic Champion of all time!

Makes me want to stop sunbathing,

take off the sunglasses, get in the pool and

start doing some laps…

Stay cool…

Peace in Baking,

 Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

 NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

 

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, French Desserts, Pastry, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Strawberry Galette

  1. Cindy Harris says:

    Thanks for a post with so much information–I’ll refer to it often. Sorry the strawberry was disappointing. I used blueberries–the juice also ran but didn’t seem to affect the finished galette. Your apple crostada looks delish, can’t wait to try it. We learn a lot when we try something new,

  2. Teresa says:

    I enjoyed your post, much more than you enjoyed your galettes, I’m afraid. I’m glad that our less-than-successes can be made into entertaining posts. Thanks for sharing the Ina crostata, too. It looks beautiful.

  3. I didn´t heed the strawberry advice either; it was the only berry (or sort-of-berry) besides blueberries available now, and we had just used the blue ones. I liked this one, but kept on thinking about Ina´s apple crostata which is still my number one. Nice pics! Paula @ Vintage Kitchen

  4. cynthial1956 says:

    Sorry you were not happy with this recipe. I am glad you were able to find something that you were happy with. Your apple galette looks wonderful. We have 6 apple trees, so I am always on the lookout for a recipe with apples!

  5. Looks good, even if you didn’t like the taste. Thanks for the tips too!

  6. Wow. You did a lot! I also had to make the popovers early, but it was because I was starting a vegan cleanse that wouldn’t allow me to eat them later. Great post!

  7. I am so sorry about your galette but I am so thankful that you taught me about crostatas recently. I had something to compare my galette too! Your apple crostata picture is beautiful and you can ride that wave of success for a long time to come! :) Blessings my friend.

  8. Melissa says:

    Love your post, love Ina and love Phelps! Sorry the recipe was disappointing. Glad to hear the popovers are a hit!

  9. Oh no, this is a disaster: you not loving this delicious galette! What a pity!!!
    What about giving him a second chance and try a different filling….please please please :-)
    Thank you for providing us with so many interesting information and for sharing your beautiful apple crostata with us.

    PS. I had to comment using Twitter as I did not find the way to comment via blogger.

    http://sweetandthatsit.blogspot.ch

  10. Cathleen says:

    Sorry the galette did not work for you. Your costata looks wonderful! I adore Ina!! I have every book of hers..

  11. The swimming is my favorite part of the Olympics too for sure. Sorry this didn’t go over well but at least you have the crostata!

  12. NickkiT says:

    Sorry to hear this recipe wasn’t a hit for you. I nearly used strawberries, but then I remembered that my husband is not a fan of the cooked strawberry so I used raspberry and peach. I had a fair amount of juice leakage too. Love the tips for the pastry (I can usually use all the tips I can get!) Really can’t wait for the popovers, I’ve never made them before :-)

  13. Bummer! Sorry you didn’t enjoy it. The photo looks absolutely perfect! (of course) And I feel like I learned a few things reading your post (score!). Thanks for all the info and tips!
    Amanda

    http://www.girlplusfood.net/2012/08/twd-apple-berry-galette.html

  14. Yeah, I’ve discovered that I’m not a fan of baked strawberries either. Glad Ina’s recipe was a success….I found I needed a ton of extra flour to get this dough to work :/

  15. cookingjulia says:

    I MUST make that crostata!

    Julia

  16. This looks so pretty! I love your tips for making pastry.

  17. I love making galettes but often regardless of the fruit it spills out of the dough. I think it gives it character but can be a bit annoying at times. Yours looks beautiful in spite of what you may think.

    Nice blog, I’ve been thinking of switching over to WordPress from Blogger for quite some time. I’m afraid I’ll screw something up in the process though and lose a lot of content. Only drawback I find is logging on to WP to post comments when you’re a blogger user.

    Nice post. Good luck with your popovers – a favorite of mine.

    Vicki Bensinger
    http://www.In-HomeCulinaryClasses.blogspot.com

  18. Carmen, your Strawberry Galette looks fantastic nonetheless. But I am with you on cooked strawberries, except jam (or sauce of some sort). Would love a bite of that Apple Crostata. :-)

Comments are closed.