TWD: Baking with Julia: Popovers

The recipe selection for the baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, is Popovers, located on page 213.

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is from the late, Marion Cunningham.

“Marion Cunningham, a former California homemaker, became one of America’s most famous and enthusiastic advocates of home cooking, died on Wednesday, 7/11/12, in Walnut Creek, California. She was 90.”

You can read about her story in The New York Times.

About Marion Cunningham

Marion Cunningham

Born Marion Enwright
February 11, 1922
Los Angeles, California, U.S.
Died July 11, 2012 (aged 90)
Walnut Creek, California, U.S.
Nationality American
Occupation food writer
Years active 1979–2012
Notable work(s) The Fannie Farmer Cookbook, 12th and 13th editions; Fannie Farmer Baking BookThe Breakfast BookThe Supper Book
Television Cunningham & Company
Spouse Robert Cunningham
Children 2

I’ve made a few recipes by Marion Cunningham, and liked them all.

~ Thank You, Marion Cunningham, for your caring spirit. RIP ~

~    ~    ~

Once the popover batter was made,

and poured into muffin pans,

off to the oven they went.

The outcome was an array of shapes…each beautiful in their own way…with a warm golden color…

The popovers were delicious! So much so, I made them again the following day.

My twist: I added pepper to my batter, and a tad more salt.

The popovers were enjoyed with a serving of Chicken Ala King (latin style).

I will post the Chicken Ala King recipe on my other blog, sometimes SAVORY, at some point this week or next. It will include a recipe photo tutorial.

This will be my last savory post on Baking is my Zen.

All savory recipes, going forward, will be posted on my other wordpress blog called, sometimes SAVORY.

 Only dessert recipes will be posted on this dessert blog, Baking is my Zen.

A special, “Thank You” to Amy,

For sharing a photo of herself, and her son, Reid (sous-chef).

Amy is one of the hosts for this week’s Popover recipe.

Adorable photo Amy!

Host bakers: (recipes can be found on their blogs)

Amy of Bake With Amy

http://bakewithamy.wordpress.com/

Paula of Vintage Kitchen Notes

http://www.vintagekitchennotes.blogspot.com/

Also, you can see the other bakers’ posts to view their creations.

#          #          #          #          #

BAKING TIP

SEPARATING EGGS

At What Temperature Do Eggs Separate Easily?

Eggs are easily separated when COLD.

When your recipe calls for yolks or whites, separate the eggs while cold. Then, bring to room temperature before use.

Have you come across a website, www.thekitchn.com?

If not, check this site out. It is excellent. Great content and fabulous photography.

~     ~     ~     ~

Enjoy your week…I look forward to baking September’s recipe choices with the baking group:

~ Nectarine Upside-Down Chiffon Cake

slated for posting on September 4th

and

~ Whole Wheat Loaves

to post on September 18th

~ ~ ~

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul 

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.

Not to be used without permission.

 

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Breads, Breakfast, Savory, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Popovers

  1. Lovely post Carmen, I love MC ´s recipes. Those popovers looks perfect, and of course your pictures are great! Sorry about the picture of myself I promised. I really need to take some to use for the blog, I just never get around to it. I´m glad Amy sent hers. Have a great week! Paula @ Vintage Kitchen Notes

  2. I had no idea Marion Cunningham had passed away – I feel a bit guilty that I didn’t mention it in my post now nice she was such a great lady & contributor to the food world. Thanks for the info! Your popovers look delicious & I’m going to be making them again soon too. I loved them!

    • Maggie, (alwaysaddmorebutter) yes, Marion Cunningham died in July. Loved her recipes, simple and good. I definitely will be making these popovers again too.

      Carmen

  3. Several of my popovers turned out like yours. They look delicious!

  4. These are so beautiful. I think I could just stare at them all day. I need to make these again. Once again, I love your photography! And I need to add your new blog to google reader!

  5. gaaarp says:

    Great looking popovers! And I love the idea of pepper — I’ll have to try that next time. I’m thinking cheese would be a great addition, too.

  6. Cindy Harris says:

    We loved this recipe, easy and so delicious. I also thought of Chicken ala King when I made these. I’ll look for it on your other blog.

  7. Your popovers look beautiful!!! They are one of my most favorites. I love having them warm with strawberry butter. YUM.

  8. (I am posting this comment on behalf of Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table)

    What a great post, Carmen! I loved it all, the photos, the text, the tips, the connects, the extra information…this blog is going in my weekly blog reader! Very nice. Oh, and your popovers look wonderfully delicious and beautiful as well!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I will read yours from now on, but I can’t comment, so please know that…I will try to leave you a little note if you comment on mine that week and you can check for that there?

    Your blog is beautifully done.

    xo,
    Kayte
    http://www.grandmaskitchentable.typepad.com

  9. Oooh, such perfect popovers! And serving them with Chicken Ala King sounds marvelous!

  10. I also loved how each popover had its own character! These were fun to make.

  11. Teresa says:

    I like how you tweaked them for your savoury dish. The shapes you got were fantastic!

Comments are closed.