TWD: Baking with Julia: Nectarine Upside-Down Chiffon Cake

The recipe selection for the baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, is Nectarine Upside-Down Chiffon Cake, on pages 241-243.

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is Mary Bergin.

Host bakers: (recipes can be found on their blogs)
Marlise of The Double Trouble Kitchen
http://thedoubletroublekitchen.com/

Susan of The Little French Bakery
http://littlefrenchbakery.com/

This cake on its own is delicious. Since it uses egg whites in the batter, it’s a light cake…simply beautiful.

I changed a few steps in my cake. First, I used a bundt pan instead of a springform pan.
For the brown sugar process, I melted the butter in a large measuring cup in the microwave. Cooled it slightly. Mixed the brown sugar with the butter in the cup.

Sprayed the bundt pan with PAM, an oil spray. Then added the brown sugar mixture in the bundt pan.

Added the nectarine slices, and sprinkled roasted, finely chopped pecans on the nectarines slices.
The cake was done in 45 minutes.

After cooling the cake for 25 minutes, I ran a knife along the edges of the cake pan to ensure that the cake would come out of the pan when inverted.

The cake was delicious, soft and spongy…the topping, sweet and tasty. The pecans help cut the sweetness from the brown sugar. The cake is so good it could stand on its own without the topping or fruit.

I omitted the streusel as suggested by bakers in the group’s discussion thread.
My vote on this cake: Thumbs up for this recipe!


~ ~ ~ ~ ~

WORDPRESS.COM TIP:

What I learned about ALLOCATED SPACE on my blog this past week…
On a blog, you are allocated a certain amount of space. Once you reach it, you can’t post anymore. (My allocated WordPress blog space is 3.0 GB.)

One way to make sure you don’t use your space unneccesarily, is to post a photo once. Namely, if you post a photo, and then change your mind, and decide to upload another in a different size, you will end up with two photos in your media library. So, remember to remove the photo that didn’t end up on your blog. This way, your media library space will only house photos that are in your blog.

On the Media Library screen, you can see how much space is allotted and how much is used.

Currently, this is how it appears on my Media Library Screen:
You are currently using 157.5 MB out of 3.0 GB upload limit (5%).

To clean up Media Library: In WordPress, select: Media, select: Library. At this screen, you can delete photos that are not in your blog. Unattached photos should be deleted also.

Note: You can keep unattached photos in your media library. But, that should be out of design, not default.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

BAKING TIP

~ LEMON ZEST…always at the ready ~

When a recipe calls for lemon juice, and the whole lemon will be used,
First, zest the lemon. Once a lemon is cut, zesting is sort of, well, ‘out of the question’…
Wrap the lemon zest in plastic wrap.
Place zest in a plastic zip lock freezer bag.
Label it: with date AND item (lemon zest)
Store lemon zest in the freezer for future use.
Proceed to juice the lemon for your recipe.


~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Last week was fun!
Shot photos of Bobby Flay at the opening of his restaurant,

Bobby’s Burger Palace, in the Market Square Mall, in Princeton, New Jersey.

I like Flay’s style of cooking…he’s all about lots of flavor in his cuisine…which I like.

Bobby Flay (on left) is sitting, woman with gray top is standing next to him.

I ordered the “Bobby Blue Burger,” with Sweet Potato Fries. Soooo good!

Story and more photos on my WordPress blog post, Baking is my Zen, dated August 28, 2012.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

THE NEXT RECIPE to bake with the group will be, Whole Wheat Bread, (pages 83-84), a recipe by Craig Kominiak.

The hosts for September 18 will be:
~ Teresa of The Family That Bakes Together
~ Michele of Veggie Num Nums

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Meanwhile, while I enjoy a slice of Nectarine Upside-Down Chiffon Cake…, I’ll be relaxing and listening to Latin Jazz…delicious cake AND delicious music.

Guitar Rumba Flamenco Latin Jazz John Gilliat

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission. 2012

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Cakes, Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Nectarine Upside-Down Chiffon Cake

  1. You are so smart! Your Bundt pan cake stayed nice and full, my springform cake deflated in the middle. I wasn’t sure all that batter would fit and it did! I will remember IF there is a next time for me. Your photos are beautiful! So many recipes, so little time – Blessings! Catherine http://www.praycookblog.com

  2. I love that you made this a bundt cake! Wonderful idea!

  3. Carmen, Love that you made this in a bundt pan…it looks perfectly beautiful! Bobby’s new place looks like a lot of fun…nice photos! My son used to live in Princeton! You and I are practically neighbors!!

  4. Liz says:

    Gorgeous cake, Carmen! Beautifully done in a Bundt pan :)

  5. Love the nectarine slice design in the bundt pan. And the end result looks great!

  6. Teresa says:

    I like your bundt version of this cake – so pretty! We really enjoyed the streusel, but seem to be in the minority.

    • Teresa, that’s wonderful that you enjoyed the streusel…maybe I would have…just felt, though, that this cake had too much going on as it was…personally, I thought the streusel was ‘overkill’.

      Carmen

  7. Love your variation of using the Bundt pan. Your cake looks delicious.

  8. Amanda says:

    I LOVE the bundt pan idea! Absolutely beautiful!!! I bet the pecans were delicious in this!

  9. Loved the picture of the nectarines in the bundt pan!!

  10. Alice says:

    I was originally thinking of doing this one in a bundt pan also – so I love the variation!! :)

    I managed to skirt past the media limit on wordpress by getting an account with flickr and it allows for unlimited uploads that you can literally copy and paste right into your blog… :) It’s pretty handy!

  11. Cathleen says:

    Your cake is absolutely gorgeous as well as your photos!

  12. Piebird says:

    Good call on the bundt pan and the way you arranged the fruit. I think yours is the prettiest one in the group!

  13. Melissa says:

    Great idea to use a bundt pan. I bet that solved the jiggly center problem a lot of us seemed to be having. I love Bobby Flay. Had a chance to meet him when I was about 8 months pregnant and eating my way through the menu at Mesa. ;)

    • Melissa, when I read about the issues, I immediately thought to use the bundt pan…I wasn’t in the mood for a kitchen disaster :)
      Wonder if your child now likes southwest cuisine… :)

      Carmen

Comments are closed.