TWD: Baking with Julia: Walnut-Coconut Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

The November 6th recipe selection for the baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, is Buttermilk Crumb Muffins.

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe was by, American Home Cooking Icon,
Marion Cunningham.

Host Baker is Alisa (her blog includes the recipe)
Easier Than Pie

Use to buy ground nutmeg. It was a spice that I never quite liked, but reluctantly used in baking. However, when I bought the seeds, I never looked back to buying it ground. There is a huge difference using freshly grated nutmeg. I must say, I still go light on the nutmeg. I still don’t LOVE it. But, freshly ground, it’s worth a place in my baking kitchen, albeit, in small amounts. I buy my nutmeg seeds at Williams-Sonoma, one of my favorite stores.

I like muffins with something going on in it. So, I added roasted walnuts and shredded coconut. So much better now…I’m happy.

Added some of the walnut-coconut crumb mixture on top of the muffins before baking.

Just out of the oven…

muffins cooling on a wire rack…

These muffins were delicious!
I would make these muffins again…and again.

Beautiful cross-section…

Bake these…you’ll love them…yes…really…

BAKING TIP

Greaseproof Baking Cups

I like to use greaseproof baking cups when I make muffins or cupcakes.

Details for the greaseproof baking cups used in this post:
• solid brown non-stick, standard cupcake pan liners
• Made in the usa with high grade swedish greaseproof paper , which prevents oil spots
• Makes removal from pan easy
• Great for muffins, cupcakes , candy, nuts and more
• 1.875″ bottom x 1.25″ wall for standard size cupcakes and muffins

Regency Wraps sells lots of great stuff. You can find the greaseproof baking cups on their website and on Amazon.

Great info of cupcake liners by a blogger. Check her site out…
My Baking Addiction.

Storm SANDY came barreling through the East Coast. Lost power for days. We are safe and ok. Neighbors did not fare so well.

Power is back in my home since eight nights ago. Thank you God!

I plan on volunteering to help my community rebuild.

Today is ELECTION DAY. Hope you voted!

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Breakfast, Quick Breads/Muffins, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Walnut-Coconut Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

  1. Great looking muffins! I loved these too! Seems like lots of people had issues with them but I don’t really get it. I thought they were easy-peasy and delicious!

  2. Elaine says:

    Beautiful photos. I like your additions and agree with you on freshly ground nutmeg.

  3. I definitely voted! Great walnut-coconut flavors in these muffins!

  4. SandraM says:

    Wow, your muffins look fantastic! I love that you added walnuts and coconut. Now it makes me want to try them again with those ingredients. And wouldn’t some carrot be great too?!
    Also want to add, that your pictures are awesome. Great job.

  5. Tammy says:

    Since moving to the nutmeg state, I’ve felt obliged to grate my own. But oh, the knuckle pain! I finally broke down and bought this cool little tool and it’s changed my relationship with nutmeg forever. Check it out: http://www.amazon.com/Chefn-Nutmeg-Handed-Grinder-Meringue/dp/B001QXDREQ (this isn’t the exact one I have but it’s close).

    As always, I love your photos. I’m totally going to do a do-over with coconut. Why didn’t I do that in the first place?

  6. Ohhh…coconut sounds like a very good idea! Glad to hear you made it safely through Sandy.

  7. Mel says:

    I like your muffins!!!! So beautiful!!!!
    Your additions seem very interesting, I’ll try very quickly…
    I really enjoyed discovering, reading your blog and looking at your nice pictures.
    I’ll come back and keep it in my favorite!!!

  8. Monica says:

    Your variation on these muffins sounds divine…I LOVE everything coconut! What beautiful pictures! What type of camera do you use?

  9. What a wonderful post! Your muffins look lovely, I didn’t know about grease proof baking cups and will make the purchase. Thank you! Blessings, Catherine http://www.praycookblog.com

  10. Cathleen says:

    I like the brown paper liners! Coconut and walnuts are a good call – these definitely needed to be upped a notch (or two, or three…)

  11. Love the idea of these, especially with that topping. Will have to check out the original recipe. I’m not that great at baking, so I’m looking for recipes that should work in my favour. As for nutmeg, I’ve only ever used freshly grated.

Comments are closed.