TWD: Baking with Julia: FRENCH APPLE TART

french tart

The January 22nd recipe selection for the baking group,
Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia is the

French Apple Tart.

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan,
found on pages 379-381.
The contributing baker for this recipe is Leslie Mackie.

Host Baker: Gaye of Laws of the Kitchen
Check out all the links in the LYL section of TWDBWJ.

My first attempt at baking a French Apple Tart was at a Pastry Techniques course I attended at The French Culinary Institute in New York City. The French Apple Tart was our first class assignment. I fell in love with French pastry! Simply delightful. My takeaway from the class tart recipe was a preference to using an apple not as tart as the Granny Smith. I prefer Golden Delicious apples in my tart. I don’t use bread crumbs as the recipe by Leslie Mackie indicated.

BAKING TIP

TART PAN vs PIE PAN

TART

PIE
Short answer: The main difference is the shape and depth of the sides.

Click on following links to read more about TARTS vs PIES.

TART vs PIE – The Kitchn
Pie Pans vs Tart Pans – Fine Cooking
Pie Crust, Tart Crust, what’s the difference – The Culinary Works

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Tarts, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: FRENCH APPLE TART

  1. Liz says:

    I think I’ll use golden delicious next time…great tip! I love apple desserts, too!

  2. Carmen, Interesting post! My cousins son graduated from the French Culinary Institute and we were lucky enough to be at his graduation dinner where his class served at least four courses of phenomenal food! How lucky to have studied there!

  3. Mel says:

    I’m completely agree, the granny smith aren’t a good choice for an apple tart, I used it to try but normally I take the same variety as you, so the result is totally different!!!! I’ll try and make some changes as you did and could compare!!!
    Anyway your tart looks so yummy!!! Well done!

  4. NickkiT says:

    Looks wonderful!

  5. Krissy says:

    Through the entire baking of this tart I was wishing I’d used Golden Delicious…this tart would have been not only beautiful, but also delicious with a different apple. I should know better! Your tart is perfect!

    • Kris, the first time I made it, I couldn’t put my finger on it but I didn’t like it. Then I realized the apples are too tart. It was better after switching apple type.

      Carmen

  6. SandraM says:

    Looks great. I like the look of a tart for special occasions and a pie is wonderful for family dinners. Very interesting post. I love that you took a course….it is a dream of mine. You look like you totally enjoyed it.

  7. saucygander says:

    I guess I must be one of those tart apple people, as I liked this tart. I would like to try another type of apple to taste the difference. Yours looks great!

  8. Carmen, this is ceratinly a very interesting post – how wonderful it must have been to take a class at the French Culinary Institute in NYC. You must have taken away a lot from the course. A very interesting and instructional post – thanks also for the tip on using Golden Delcious versus Granny Smith apples.!
    Have a great Wednesday!

  9. Great looking tart! I never use grannies any more either, unless they are going to be mixed with something else or have lots of added sugar.

  10. Cathleen says:

    I enjoyed the Granny Smith (I like tart) but am anxious to try a sweeter apple. Sorry to say I am a little confused… I see the sliced apples in the top picture – but the finished pie looks very different – but delicious as well!

Comments are closed.