TWD: Baking with Julia: White Loaves

Came across a group called, Tuesdays with Dorie, aka, TWD.

Joined the group to bake the recipes along with other bakers. I own the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan. I’ve never tried the recipes. Now would be a good time to start!

Here’s the book cover…

(you can BUY your very own copy here.)

I always remove book covers…do you?

If you’re interested in joining the group, check out the details on the website, Tuesdays with Dorie. Recipe postings are due on Tuesdays. There will be a baker(s) who will host. Only the host(s) will post the recipe on their blog. All others bake along, but do not post the recipe.

I look forward to baking along with other bakers.

There are two hosts for this week’s recipe,
WHITE LOAVES: pages 81-82

Laurie
Blog: Slush

Jules
Blog: Someone’s in the Kitchen

RECIPE is on Jules blog. Click HERE.

You can also see all the other bakers links who baked along this week by clicking HERE.

For as much as I love bread, I do not bake it often. And yet, there is nothing better than freshly baked bread.

The ingredients are basic. I didn’t have to shop for anything. Had all the ingredients on hand. ~ Love when that happens ~

I like using the mixer to do the kneading…

Next comes the PROOFING process.

Then, off to the oven to BAKE.

Bread is baked and ready to enjoy.

I like to dip freshly baked bread in herbed oil. I combine a dab of butter with olive oil, adding a few spices, like oregano, salt, pepper, garlic, and red pepper flakes. I also add fresh herbs, like cilantro.

…dipping freshly baked bread in herbed oil…

Life’s Simple Pleasures


Till next Tuesday,

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: Please DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Breads, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: White Loaves

  1. How delicious that herbed dipping oil sounds!! Pictures look fabulous. And how cool that you started a Flickr group for TWD. Welcome to the group!

  2. Baking is my Zen says:

    Pamela, as it turns out, I’m not going to be doing a flickr group. That means, more time for me! 🙂

    ~Carmen

  3. Alice says:

    your photography is great! 🙂 I took the sleeve off of my book as well and I know that the book is not going to stay white for long…. 🙂

  4. Baking is my Zen says:

    Alice, yes, the book won’t be white for long. I make a copy of the recipe before I bake. This way, I can mark it up and keep the book as pristine as I possibly can.

    ~ Carmen

  5. Shortbread says:

    What a fun blog. Your pictures make me hungry!

  6. hkinnaird says:

    Love your pics!

  7. teaandscones says:

    Bread looks lovely. There’s another way to eat fresh baked bread besides dipping?? Who Knew!! LOL

Comments are closed.