TWD: Baking with Julia: Chocolate Truffle Tartlets (with craisins and malt balls)

Second post with the group, Tuesdays with Dorie, and this week’s recipe is

Chocolate Truffle Tartlets.

This recipe is from the book,

Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.

The contributing baker for this recipe is David Ogonowski.

There are four  hosts for this week’s recipe, CHOCOLATE TRUFFLE TARTLETS: pages 382-383,  chocolate dough, pages 372-373

Steph
Blog: A whisk and a Spoon
http://awhiskandaspoon.com/

Spike
Blog: Spike.does.stuff
http://spikebakes.tumblr.com/

Jaime
Blog: Good Eats n’ Sweet Treats
http://www.goodeatsblog.com/

Jessica
Blog: Cook Book Habit
http://cookbookhabit.blogspot.com/

You can also see all the other bakers who baked along this week.
http://tuesdayswithdorie.wordpress.com/

These tartlets are made with a chocolate dough.

I used the food processor to make the chocolate dough. Then dough was chilled.

I used cocoa powder instead of all-purpose flour when flouring the surface before rolling the dough.

Dough was added to tart shells, then chilled.

I docked chilled dough just before baking tart shells.

The baked tarts were cooled on a rack.

Chocolate filling ready to pour into tart shells.

I changed a few ingredients that went into the filling. Instead of using biscotti, milk and white chocolate, I used craisins and  malt balls.

I added the craisins and malt balls separately instead of mixing them in the filling.

I wanted each tart to have the same amount of craisins in each, thus, adding it separately.

Mixed all ingredients gently.

Baked tartlets…just out of the oven…

Tartlets cooling on rack.

Cross section of the tartlet.

These Chocolate Truffle Tartlets are very rich. I really enjoyed the creamy, fudgy consistency. I like it better without a crunchy texture. Going forward, I’ll add just dried cherries or craisins.

Goes great with a cold glass of milk.

Enjoy!

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: Please DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Chocolate Truffle Tartlets (with craisins and malt balls)

  1. Karen S says:

    Wow! Gorgeous photos and blog. I hope you don’t mind that I copied the hosts and their links onto my blog. I’m new at this and didn’t know how to do that yet. I mentioned your link on my post, but I can take it off if you’d rather not be mentioned there. Thanks! Karen at
    http://bakingwithdorieandjulia.wordpress.com/

  2. Wow…your photographs are amazing!! So beautiful!! 🙂 I love how you are able to add words to the pictures…I don’t know how to do that yet. Love your post!

  3. I’m adding a comment by Lisa of Dust with Flour:

    Carmen:
    I love your blog. So glad I found it. Tried to post a comment but couldn’t. Anyway, wanted you to know that your photos are amazing. What work to compile those collages and add text. The addition of Craisins and malt balls = perfect!
    -Lisa
    Dust with flour

  4. Shortbread says:

    Fabulous photos and your tarts look just perfect. I will definitely use the cocoa for dusting my surface when rolling the dough next time!

  5. julessomeone says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen strawberry malt balls. So glad you liked this one!

  6. Deniz says:

    I agree with the other comments. I love the photography here a lot !

  7. Gorgeous photos! 🙂 Glad that you are baking along with everyone! 🙂

  8. janwa says:

    Great photos! What a wonderful idea putting malt balls and craisins! I bet they were awesome!

  9. terraamericana says:

    Carmen,

    I love your pictures and the substitutions are brilliant. I wish I had thought to go with nuts.

    Julie

  10. Lauren says:

    Great layout…is that with the wordpress template? Next time I’ll try the malt balls too. Wow.

  11. Loven the addition of the malt balls and craisens. Great idea to add them separately for even distribution. You do an awesome job with your pictures too!

  12. Lori says:

    Carmen, what a work of art your blog is! Completely inspired choice to add the malt milk balls, and your filling is totally sumptuous.

  13. Emese says:

    Wow, amazing photos. Clear picture tutorial.

  14. Melanie says:

    Great pictures!! I wondered why the recipe didn’t call to use cocoa powder instead of flour to roll out the dough. That was a good idea. It looks like you portioned your dough w/ the pizza wheel too. Also great idea. I’ll have to look out for those Strawberry Whoppers in the store. I’d never thought to use dried fruit in these tartlets. I’ll bet that was delicious! Super looking tartlets!! Good luck w/ your rugelach.

    • Melanie,

      Thanks for stopping by. I, too, wondered why they didn’t use cocoa powder. I actually weighed the dough and divided it by 6. I did the same with the craisins…weighed it so each tart got the same amount.

      ~ Carmen

  15. Cher says:

    Very pretty pictures! I love malt balls – what a great addition.

  16. Amy says:

    love the idea of malt balls with the chocolate tarts! (and your stainless steel counters are beautiful)

    • Amy,

      Must say…I am so glad I bought the stainless steel table…I never fear of ruining it.
      My granite is another story…very careful what I put on it.

      ~Carmen

      • Amy says:

        we toyed with the idea of stainless steel countertops, but ended up going with marble….which I love, but I wouldn’t mind doing a stainless steel table. then I could have the best of both worlds….and it would be a surface that my children couldn’t destroy!

  17. teaandscones says:

    Craisins and malted balls. How very creative. I bet the malted balls were quite crispy. It looks beautifully creamy.

    Thanks so much for stopping by for a visit!

  18. You had me at malt balls but lost me at craisins. I’ll be making another version with your malt balls suggestion. It sounds delicious.

  19. Wendy says:

    Your tarts look awesome! I like the idea of craisins and malt balls. Great pictures!

  20. Kris Barlow says:

    You are very talented, but it takes more than talent to have such a beautiful blog…lots of time too. Your love of baking and photography and also teaching all shine through in your posts. I’m glad you stopped by my blog so that I could come to see who you are…I’ll be back. So many bakers in this group…I’ve not visited everyone yet…yours is very well done.

  21. jane says:

    Your pictures are amazing, inspiring!! I also love the additions you added to the tart!!

  22. Your tarts look lovely and your substitutions are brilliant!

  23. great step-by-stephs. and the inside of your tart looks awesome!

  24. dulceshome says:

    Your tarts look wonderful. What a gorgeous blog!

    I think your idea of using the fruit sounds terrific. Maybe I’ll get back to these again with the inspiring ideas I’ve seen.

  25. Jill says:

    Oh my gosh, malt balls sound like a fantastic addition! And what a great idea to add the extras to each tart so that they’re evenly distributed. Great job – I love getting tips from other bakers!

  26. I really like how you present your process photos. The craisins and malt balls are a great idea. I love how your tartlets crackled on top like a brownie!

Comments are closed.