Pecan Tassies baked before storm SANDY hit the U.S. East Coast

My brother Dave was visiting family in New Jersey. I made Pecan Tassies for him because he loves these. It is great baking and cooking for those you love…especially when they like what you make. *SMILES*

Dave is a tad of a storm chaser. He likes to go out to watch and experience the storm. Me? Not so much. I’d rather watch it on the news.

Even though we had no power for eight nights, my family was fortunate, in that, we had heat from the gas stove to keep warm during the day, clean running water, delicious cooked meals,

hot showers, functioning toilets, candles and flashlights. The lack of power was ‘almost’ a non-issue except for the fact that I couldn’t watch TV in the evening. Online activity was limited to my smart phone. I sort of enjoyed the online disconnection for a while. It was a time to slow down…spend time with family. We shared stories and jokes …and did so while sipping wine under candlelight.


I am grateful to God that we are safe!
There were many downed trees on the ground and on homes. Dave and I drove around the neighborhood and took photos of the destruction. It felt like a war zone of sorts…damage all around…no one in sight…very quiet…felt eerie.


Storm SANDY aftermath – Maplewood, New Jersey – flickr PHOTO SLIDESHOW

LET’S go check out the Pecan Tassies recipe I baked for my brother, just in the nick of time, before storm SANDY made her UNwelcome appearance…


I used a pan by Chicago Metallic which has removable bottoms. It’s a mini cheesecake pan, but, works well for the Pecan Tassies.

PECAN TASSIES

Recipe from Southern Living, Pecan Tassies
Adapted by Carmen Ortiz of Baking is my Zen

Yield: Makes 4 dozen (approx. 48 tassies)

INGREDIENTS

DOUGH
• 1 cup butter, softened (8 ounces)
• 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
• 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
• Pinch salt

PECAN FILLING
• 1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
• 2 large eggs
• 2 tablespoons butter, melted
• 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
• 1/8 teaspoon salt
• 1 1/2 cups chopped pecans (roasted)

CHOCOLATE (optional)
Mini chocolate chips or chocolate chunks

DIRECTIONS

MAKE DOUGH
• Beat butter and cream cheese at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Approx. 3 minutes.
• Gradually add flour and pinch of salt to butter mixture, beating at low speed.
• Scrape down bowl occasionally with a spatula.
• Transfer mixed dough onto plastic wrap. Wrap dough, form it in shape of a disk.
• Chill for 30 minutes before forming into balls.
• Shape mixture into 48 balls (approximately), and place on a baking sheet.
• Cover and chill 1 hour.

PECAN FILLING
• Roast chopped pecans in oven for 7-8 minutes. Remove from oven. Cool. (Or, heat on stovetop.)
• Whisk together brown sugar, eggs, melted butter, vanilla extract, and salt.
• Mix with spatula to incorporate the sugar and other ingredients.
• Add pecans. Mix with spatula.
• Set aside.

FORM DOUGH BALLS
• Note: Keep the shaped dough balls chilled until you’re ready to use it.
• Lightly spray a muffin pan with PAM vegetable spray.
• Place 1 dough ball into each lightly greased muffin cup in mini muffin pans, shaping each into a shell.
• My method: Roll out dough ball with rolling pin on a floured board. Place it in the muffin pan and pleat the edges to fit in the pan.

ASSEMBLING PECAN TASSIES
• Spoon some pecan mixture into tart shells. Do not overfill the tarts. (I use a small ice cream scooper)
• (Optional) Add a couple of chocolate chips in each tart. (I used chocolate chunks. I used one chunk per tassie)

BAKE at 350° for 20-25 minutes or until filling is set.

COOLING/SERVING
• Cool in pans on wire racks for 10 minutes.
• Remove tartlets from pans.
• Cool on wire racks 20 minutes or until completely cool.

Enjoy with a hot cup of coffee or a cold glass of milk.

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Celebrations, Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Holidays, Pastry, Pie, Tarts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pecan Tassies baked before storm SANDY hit the U.S. East Coast

  1. Dorothy, I’ll post your comment below…thanks for stopping by-Carmen.

    Dorothy wrote:
    What a beautiful blog you have! Nice work and your pecan tassies look fantastic! My cousin’s daughter married a pecan farmer who lives in Georgia, and they have the best pecans ever..nice fat and meaty…I buy pounds of they each fall for my pecan pies.
    I like the way you set up your site. Sure look nice!

    Dorothy Cummingham
    http://dorothycunningham.wordpress.com/

  2. Hope everything’s good for you now. Great looking tassies!

  3. These pictures are some of the best I have ever seen! Great job on the post. Your pecan tassies look so flaky I want to pick one up right off my computer screen! I am going to make these … thanks for sharing! I am so thankful to God that you and your family survived the storm.

  4. Carmen, So glad you are safe and weathered the storm with minimal damage. We were in Fla. when Sandy hit and I was so worried for my family and friends. Thank God all family and friends are fine with little damage…trees down, no power and gas shortages…nothing more! So sorry for all those who live along the coast! BTW…Great tassies!!

Comments are closed.