Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary…Celebrating with a PIÑA COLADA

Pina Colada-

Ah, time to celebrate my blog’s birthday. Enjoy a

Piña Colada

with me! Recipe is listed below. Well, it has been four years since my very first blog post on January 31, 2009. Started blogging using Blogger.com (three years), then switched over to WordPress in 2012.

My earlier posts consisted of a recipe and a photo. I then started posting recipe photo-tutorials. It definitely was more detailed and took a lot more work. But, I was ready  to try something more. I like to see photos, not just a narrative when reading a recipe.

MEMORY LANE of the yearly milestones for Baking is my Zen…

January 31, 2009 – My first blog post on Baking is my Zen via blogger.com.
Coconut Cake ~ heaven on earth

Baking is my Zen - coconut cake

1st Blogiversary -January 31, 2010
Happy 1st blog birthday to Baking is my Zen.
Winter Dried Fruit and Nut Chocolate Bark

Baking is my Zen

2nd Blogiversary – January 31, 2011
Happy 2nd blog birthday to Baking is my Zen!
A visit to Crumbs Bake Shop in Westfield, New Jersey

Baking is my Zen Baba Booey and Samoa Cupcakes by Crumbs
Baba Booey
Chocolate cake filled with peanut butter frosting, topped with peanut butter and chocolate cream cheese frosting and rimmed with peanut butter chips.
Samoa Cupcake
Ingredients in this delicious cupcake: Vanilla cake, caramel, chocolate and coconut.

3rd Blogiversary – January 31, 2012
Happy 3rd blog birthday to Baking is my Zen

4th Blogiversary – January 31, 2013

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s 4th Blogiversary today

with a PIÑA COLADA.

Pina Colada- As of 2/1/12, Baking is my Zen has been hosted by WordPress instead of Blogger.com.

If you like coconut, pineapple and rum…you’ll love this Caribbean cocktail. Piña Colada is a favorite of mine and a popular drink in Puerto Rico, my birthplace.

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary with a PIÑA COLADA (1)

I had tried other brands for the cream of coconut, and have found the brand, Coco Lopez, to be the best.

Coco López’s “cream of coconut” should not be used for coconut cream in Thai or other Southeast Asian cuisines, as Coco López is sweetened and used in making piña coladas.

Cream of Coconut is a delicious cream made from the tender meat of sun ripened Caribbean coconuts and blended with the exact portion of natural cane sugar.”

The consistency is a congealed texture while in the can. To liquefy the coconut cream, place the can in a bowl of hot water for approximately 15 minutes.

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary with a PIÑA COLADA (2) Open can. Mix. The cream of coconut will turn into a thick, pourable consistency.

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary with a PIÑA COLADA (3)

Gather your ingredients to make The Authentic Piña Colada: Cream of coconut, pineapple juice, rum and ice.

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary with a PIÑA COLADA (4)

My preference: I pour the liquid ingredients in a large measuring cup and mix before adding it to the blender. But, you can just add it all in the blender at this point.

I pour cream of coconut in cup.

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary with a PIÑA COLADA (5)

Next, I pour in the pineapple juice. (recipe calls for 4 ounces, I use 6 ounces).

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary with a PIÑA COLADA (6)

Next, rum is added.

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary with a PIÑA COLADA (7)

Stir…

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary with a PIÑA COLADA (8)

Almost done….ice goes in blender. I add a bit more ice than recipes calls for.

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary with a PIÑA COLADA (9)

Pour the mixed liquid in the blender and mix until blended to a consistency of a Slushie.

Celebrating Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary with a PIÑA COLADA (10)

Add a pineapple wedge and strawberry for garnish. A straw is essential. It’s took thick not to use a straw.

Variation: My brother and his wife add vanilla ice cream to their Piña Colada. Will be making their variation soon…

After you make yourself this delicious Caribbean drink, join me in singing Happy Birthday to Baking is my Zen. *smiles*

THE AUTHENTIC PIÑA COLADA

Pina Colada to celebrate Baking is my Zen's Blogiversary

Recipe source: Coco Lopez Cream of Coconut (on back of can)

Adapted slightly by Carmen Ortiz of Baking is my Zen

INGREDIENTS:
4 ounces Cream of Coconut (Coco Lopez brand)
4 fluid ounces pineapple juice (I add 6 ounces)
3 fluid ounces Bacardi white rum (add more or less to your preference)
2 cups ice (I add more ice)
Garnish: pineapple and strawberry
Straw

DIRECTIONS:
Tip: To liquefy the cream of coconut-Add hot water in a small bowl. Place Coco Lopez Cream of Coconut can in a bowl of hot water. After 15 minutes, open can. Stir cream of coconut.

1. In a large measuring cup or bowl, add cream of coconut, pineapple juice and rum.
2. Mix liquid ingredients.
3. Add ice in blender.
4. Pour liquid ingredients in blender.
5. Mix until smooth (consistency of a slushie).
6. Pour Piña Colada in a tall glass.
7. Garnish with a pineapple and strawberry.
8. Add a straw and sip away…Cheers!

And now…a BIRTHDAY SONG for Baking is my Zen…

Happy Birthday to you.
Happy Birthday to you.

Happy Birthday dear Baking is my Zen.

Happy Birthday, to you.
(lots of clapping now and smiles)

Happy Blogiversary Baking is my Zen

Peace,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Blogiversaries, Celebrations, Cocktails & Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Baking is my Zen’s Blogiversary…Celebrating with a PIÑA COLADA

  1. Happy fourth year blogging!
    I’ll have a Piña Colada, without the rum! I’m not keen on spirits, excepting gin.

  2. Happy blogaversary! Drinks all around!

  3. Happy fourth birthday of your blog !
    I love pina colada, it always remebers me from a tropical vacation.

  4. kale says:

    wow, that piña colada is gorgeous! reminds me of one i had in baños last year. when it’s made right it is just like nothing else! so fresh and tropical and totally worthy of a milestone!
    Happy Blogiversary!!

Comments are closed.