BOUCHON BAKERY: Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry Muffins

SPECTACULAR

Blueberry Muffins

I, somewhat, like Blueberry Muffins. After baking Thomas Keller’s Blueberry Muffins, I had a change of heart. Now, I LOVE Blueberry Muffins…not any Blueberry Muffin….but, these Blueberry Muffins. The addition of molasses and honey did leave me a bit skeptical. I almost omitted the molasses. Good thing I didn’t. It is what gives the muffin character. There is a subtle complexity to the flavor of this muffin. The honey and molasses are the ‘secret’ ingredients, if you will, that make this muffin out of this world delicious. And, like I haven’t tooted the glory of this muffin enough, the texture of the muffin is soft. It’s Heavenly. Least I forget to mention, the almond streusel…it’s the crowning jewel.

This is my third recipe which I’d baked with the group, Bouchon Bakery Book Project.

These spectacular Blueberry Muffins can be found in the book, Bouchon Bakery, by Thomas Keller and Sebastien Rouxel; recipe located in the chapter on Scones and Muffins.

Chapter on Scones and Muffins-

Many of the batter recipes in the book require a resting period ranging from overnight to 36 hours. Keep this in mind when you are planning on making these muffins. You will be rewarded for your patience. Also, the use of a scale when weighing ingredients is encouraged.

Frozen wild blueberries are coated in flour, then added to the batter.

frozen blueberries-

The almond streusel is plentiful when sprinkled on the muffins. However, when baked, much of the streusel seemed to dissipate. This recipe yields 6 large muffins.

Having established that I LOVE these muffins, I will double the batch when I bake these again. There was an abundant amount of streusel left over. Good thing, I’ll use it when I make the muffins again.

blueberry muffins ready for the oven-

To bake along with the group, first, purchase the book, Bouchon Bakery, by Thomas Keller and Sebastien Rouxel, at a bookstore or online. Submit your food photo to the group, which will be posted on Facebook.

Check out details for baking along on the Bouchon Bakery Book Project’s BLOG. You can also visit the group on FACEBOOK.

You can add the badge (below) to your blog, but don’t need a blog to join.

Bouchon Bakery Badge

BOUCHON BAKERY BOOK PROJECT TEAM:

Aaron J Clarke
Earl Shaddix
Jenn Yee
Jeorgina Martinez
Jonathan Horst
Leticia Nieto-Garcia
Tania Faccone

March Recipe Schedule
March 1 Assorted Muffins: corn, bran, blueberry, lemon-poppy seed
March 8 Assorted Muffins: banana, carrot, pumpkin, decorated
March 15 Madeleines: traditional, pistachio
March 22 Financiers: traditional, chocolate
March 29 Marshmallow Eggs

blueberry muffin cross section

I have found THE best Blueberry Muffin recipe ever!

Great News! The Bouchon Bakery book is nominated for a James Beard Award.

James Beard Foundation Book Award Nominations

Category: Baking and Desserts
Book: Bouchon Bakery by Thomas Keller and Sebastien Rouxel

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Bouchon Bakery Book Project, Quick Breads/Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.