Hot Cross Buns ~ A Tradition on Good Friday

Hot Cross Buns

HOT CROSS BUNS

For some, it is tradition to eat Hot Cross Buns on Good Friday. (3/29/13)

The icing placed on the buns in a cross pattern is symbolic of the Crucifixion.

I’d seen recipes for the topping using either a flour paste mixture, or a confectioners sugar icing.

I made my Hot Cross Buns with sugar icing.

Hot Cross Buns just baked

Who else made Hot Cross Buns? Check the following sites:

Catholic Seeking
In The Know Mom
Joy of Baking
King Arthur Flour
Poires au Chocolat
Saving Room for Dessert
Speed Bump Kitchen
The Pioneer Woman
The Saucy Southerner

~     ~     ~     ~     ~

“God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son.”
– John 3:16

The Cross

In Remembrance

Music Video: In Remembrance

A Special ‘Thank You’ to Cindy for sharing her video.

Peace,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Breads, Breakfast, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.