BACON CANDY ~ A SWEET and Savory Appetizer

Bacon Candy

Finally…made Bacon Candy. As I read earlier this year, bacon candy is supposedly “out of style”. Just like clothes, foods go in and out of style. That’s fine and well, but, what if I don’t want to let go? Well, since I’m all about enjoying life, bacon candy will stick around.

Made my first batch of bacon candy. I enjoyed this thoroughly. I tell you, it will always have a place in my kitchen. These make great appetizers. I also like that it is baked in the oven. No stove top necessary. That fact alone makes this recipe a keeper. There is no stove top mess. The smell of bacon lingering for hours or days on end in the kitchen is non-existent.

When selecting the bacon, keep in mind, fat renders, so use a thick cut bacon.
Make a brown sugar mixture. You can get really creative here and use spices that you like.
Cover the bacon completely with the sugar mixture. Remove excess.
Place the bacon strips on a baking rack and set on a foil-lined rimmed sheet pan.
Once baked, cool the strips on a cooling rack, and enjoy.

Making Bacon Candy-

CARMEN’S BACON CANDY

Yield: 20 pieces

½ cup brown sugar
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
20 slices bacon, thick cut

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Cover a rimmed sheet pan with aluminum foil.
  3. Set an oven proof baking rack on the sheet pan.
  4. COMBINE sugar and spices in a bowl.
  5. One by one, place bacon strips in sugar mixture.
  6. Pat sugar mixture into the bacon.
  7. Shake off excess sugar mixture.
  8. Place sugar covered bacon strips on baking rack.
  9. BAKE 20-25 minutes or until crisp.
  10. Transfer to a cooling rack.
  11. Cool. Serve.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Holy Saturday

3/30/13

Holy Saturday is the day after Good Friday and the day before Easter.
This day commemorates the day Jesus Christ’s body laid in the tomb.

3274753341_16f742c7e4_b

Photo credit: Todd Anderson
Flickr: Mwesigwa
‘Thank You’ Todd for sharing your photo.

Rosary beads on guitar - by Carmen Ortiz

Music Video: I Know That My Redeemer Lives
Music by Michael R. Hicks.
Vocals by Linda Rowberry.
From the album, I Know He Lives.
Michael, ‘Thank You’ for sharing your video.

The Bacon Candy recipe can also be found on my savory blog, sometimes SAVORY.

Peace,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Baked, Savory, Sweet and Savory and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.