Celebrating Father’s Day with the Ultimate Coconut Cake

Happy Father's Day Dad 6-16-13

Father’s Day 

Sunday, June 16, 2013.

Spending time with the family today and honoring my dad
and my brothers, who are also dads.

Much love to dad and grateful that he is MY DAD.

~     ~     ~     ~     ~

For Father’s Day, baked a Coconut Cake by Robert Carver. Recipe can be found on
Martha Stewart’s website.

Robert Carver, prior Chef of The Peninsula Grill in Charleston, South Carolina, made famous, The Ultimate Coconut Cake. The first time I was introduced to this delightful cake was several years ago, when I watched a FoodNetwork show, “Throwdown with Bobby Flay”. Bobby Flay’s Coconut Cake won out. But, I knew that Robert Carver’s cake was a good one. So, I baked it back in 2009.

Robert Carver’s recipe is a keeper folks! See CAKE KUDOS below.

Bobby Flay – “All time favorite dessert”
Martha Stewart – “The richest filling, and the best ingredients…”
The New York Times – “A little slice of heaven…”
Bon Appetit – “skyscraper high…light as a cloud”
Southern Living – “One of the South’s Grand Desserts”
Delta Sky – “…a thing of tearful beauty”
Charleston City Paper Editors’ Picks – “Best Slice of Heaven”
The Food Network – Featured on Throwdown with Bobby Flay and Food Finds
The Fine Living Network – Featured on The Martha Stewart Show
Turner South Original Programs Blue Ribbon – “Best Dessert Cake in the South”

Spent most of my day yesterday making the Coconut Cake. The cake components are in the fridge. Will be assembling the cake today before heading out for our family gathering. I’ll be posting a recipe photo tutorial sometime this week on this post. Stay tuned!

I decided to try something different. Instead of using (2) 10 inch round cake pans, I used (3) 9×5 cake pans. I also added Bacardi Rum to my cakes.

Enjoy your day with your Dad…

Marina

Love Never Fails by Brandon Heath
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ro3dirBlOyw
music starts at 1.10

UPDATE: 6/28/13 Since this photo recipe tutorial is lengthy, I’ll post it, along with a video, on a separate post. Meanwhile, you can see the recipe on MarthaStewart.com.

Ultimate Coconut Cake

~    ~   ~

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Baking with Booze, Cakes, Celebrations, Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.