July is Ice Cream Month: Translation: Creamy Coconut Slide Pops

Creamy Coconut Slide Pop

Baking is on the back burner for a while. Too hot to bake. So, I’m taking this opportunity to do something NEW FOR ME…making popsicles. In the past, I’ve made gelato and sorbet, but not popsicles.

Creamy Coconut Slide Pops ready to enjoy

What I’m really excited about is the variations that can be created. The sky’s the limit.

So, going forward, I’ll be posting different popsicle recipes using my SLIDE POPS by Tovolo. Found these at Bed Bath and Beyond.

Slide Pops by Tovolo

SLIDE POPS

Why do I love these Pop Molds?
Manageable size, not too large.
It’s not messy when eating.
No need for wooden sticks!
This product is food safe.
BPA free.
Dishwasher safe.

Each pop mold contains three pieces; a tube, a stick, a lid. There are four colorful pop molds in each box.

So, before using the pop molds, they are washed.

prepping the popsicle molds

Only FOUR INGREDIENTS are needed to make these Creamy Coconut Slide Pops…whole milk, coconut milk, sweetened condensed milk and a pinch of salt.

Creamy Coconut Slide Pop Ingredients

A blender is used to mix the ingredients. But, you can also use a bowl and a wisk.

Blend ingredients

I add the step of transferring the mixture from the blender to a large measuring cup with a spout. It makes for easy pouring into the pop molds.

pour and freeze

I placed the filled pop molds in a dish towel lined container.

Then, off to the freezer for about four hours.

Freeze pop molds

~          ~          ~           ~

CREAMY COCONUT SLIDE POPS

RECIPE

July is Ice Cream Month

Recipe By Carmen Ortiz of Baking is my Zen

Prep: 15 minutes

Freezing Time: 4-5 hours

Yield: 8 Servings

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup whole milk

½ cup coconut milk

1 can  (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk

Pinch salt

DIRECTIONS:

  1. PREPARE POP MOLDS: Wash and dry molds. Set aside.
  2. IN A BLENDER, add milk, coconut milk, sweetened condensed milk and salt. Blend. (Or, mix ingredients in a bowl). This yields 24 ounces (3 cups).
  3. POUR mixture into a bowl with spout. (optional)
  4. SET OUT POPSICLE MOLDS.
  5. POUR COCONUT MIXTURE into molds.
  6. TOP the molds with lids.
  7. FREEZE pop molds.
  8. YIELD: 8 pops, 3 oz each pop mold.

My Notes:

It tasted more like dulce de leche instead of coconut.

Next time, I’ll add coconut flakes and more coconut milk.

A VIDEO version of my recipe can be seen on

Baking is my Zen’s YouTube Channel.

The background music on my video is

NEW FOR ME by Michael McEachern. Love his voice…

DRIP

Enjoy your frozen treat and the beauty of nature…

FLOW

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.

Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Ice Cream / Frozen Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.