Merry Christmas from Baking is my Zen ~ A trip to Maplewood Dickens Village 2013

Russian Tea Cakes

Have a wonderful Christmas Day with family and friends!

Enjoy the YouTube video I created of the

Maplewood Dickens Village,

set to the music, A Christmas Carol.

Dickens Village 2013 Maplewood NJ – A Christmas Carol
Video by Carmen Ortiz

Earlier in December, I made Honey Cream Caramels topped with Pecans and Sea Salt for folks at work.

Didn’t have time to bake cookies for my family for Christmas Eve. I really need to start prepping cookie dough and freezing it. It would make my life easier.

My niece Erika and boyfriend Billy showed up on Christmas Eve with Russian Tea Cakes.

Russian Tea Cakes

I was so happy to see something baked!

The cookies were fabulous!

Russian Tea Cakes CLOSEUP
These cookies melt in your mouth…oh SO GOOD! A recipe keeper.

The change Erika and Billy made to the recipe was an increase in vanilla extract.

Russian Tea Cakes

Cookies for Santa-Russian Tea Cakes

Recipe courtesy Emeril Lagasse, 2004

Adapted by my niece Erika and boyfriend Billy

Prep Time: 20 min
Inactive Prep Time: 30 min
Cook Time: 20 min
Level: Easy: 4 dozen cookies

INGREDIENTS:
1 cup butter, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract (Erika added more)
1/2 cup sifted confectioners’ sugar, plus more for rolling cookies
2 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup finely chopped pecans or walnuts

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Cream butter in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Add the vanilla.
  4. Gradually add the 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar, beating until light and fluffy.
  5. Sift the flour, measure, then sift again with the salt.
  6. Add gradually to the butter mixture.
  7. Add the pecans and mix well.
  8. Shape the dough into 1-inch balls and place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.
  9. Flatten slightly using the bottom of a glass.
  10. Bake for 20 minutes, or until edges are very lightly browned.
  11. Remove the cookies from the baking sheets.
  12. Roll in powdered sugar while still hot.
  13. Cool on wire racks and roll cookies again in powdered sugar before serving.
  14. When completely cooled, cookies can be stored in airtight containers for up to one week.

Enjoy Christmas!

Santa and Mrs Claus 2013

Carmen
Baking is my Zen

Have a Holly Jolly Christmas from Carmen of  Baking is my Zen

Photography by Carmen Ortiz.
All rights reserved. Please do not use without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Celebrations, Christmas, Cookies, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.