P.S. I LOVE YOU…a music video featuring Matt and Jenni AND “I Want to Marry You” Cookies

I Want to Marry You Cookies

It’s

VALENTINE’S DAY!

Love is in the air…

In the name of love, here’s a music video I created to the song,

P.S. I Love You by The Beatles.

Matt Tolliver and Jenni Caso

My niece Jenni and her fiancé Matt are featured in the video.
They will be getting married this summer…the best to them both!

Photography in the video includes photos from Jenni and Matt, Flickr members and me!
A Special “Thank You” to Jen, Matt and Flickr members for sharing their photography.

Did you know The Beatles were on The Ed Sullivan Show 50 years ago, 2/9/64? Their appearance was well received in America. The Beatles’ music is timeless!

The Beatles...timeless music

Well, I wanted to make cookies I saw online called,

“I Want to Marry You” Cookies.

But, as life would have it, I spent time shoveling snow the day I was to bake the cookies. I was so exhausted, I just couldn’t bake.

So, stay tuned…I’ll be back to post the recipe with my photos.

Meanwhile, stay warm from all this cold and snowy weather.

Enjoy your Valentine’s Day!

~ Happy Valentine's Day 2014 ~

Forward to 2/17/14 ~ I’m back with the recipe and photos as promised….

The ingredients for the cookies are as follows:

Ingredients for I Want to Marry You Cookies

These chocolate chip cookies are made using a pan on the stovetop, no mixer involved. This method is easy peasy. A keeper!

I Want to Marry You Cookies - process

Just baked…soft and chewy…

just baked-I Want to Marry You Cookies

The cookies spread. So, leave enough room between each cookie…otherwise, they will touch…as shown below.

cookies touching

I Want to Marry You Cookies

I Want to Marry You Cookies

Recipe by Melissa Stadler for 2011 Cooking Channel, LLC.
VIDEO

Adapted by Carmen Ortiz of Baking is my Zen

Total Time: 58 min
Prep: 5 min
Inactive Prep: 40 min
Cook: 13 min (my cookies baked for 18-20 minutes at 350 degrees F.)
Level: Easy Peasy!
Yield: 2 dozen cookies (I yielded 16 large cookies)

INGREDIENTS
1 cup butter

1 1/4 cups dark brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 cups flour
1 cup uncooked rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 cup white chocolate chips
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup chopped pecans, toasted (my addition)

DIRECTIONS
Place parchment paper on three baking sheet trays. Set aside.

My addition – Toast chopped pecans in a skillet about 5-8 minutes. Remove from heat. Cool. Set aside.

In a medium saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat until melted. Remove from the heat.

To pan, add the brown sugar and granulated sugar. Stir until sugars are incorporated and smooth. Chill 10 minutes. Remove from fridge.

In small bowl, add egg, yolk, and vanilla extract and mix. Pour into pan of sugars. Mix.

In medium bowl, add the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Mix.Transfer to pan of sugars. Mix.

Combine the white chocolate chips, chocolate chips and (my addition-toasted pecans) in a medium bowl. Transfer to pan of sugars and stir.

Put parchment-lined sheet trays on counter.

Using a medium size ice cream scooper, scoop dough onto parchment-lined sheet trays. Or, Roll by hand into 24 medium-size balls. (I yielded 16 large cookies using an ice cream scooper.)

Chill trays of unbaked cookies for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit. (NOTE: I baked my cookies at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.)

Remove the cookies from the refrigerator and bake for 12 to 14 minutes.
(NOTE: I baked my cookies at 350 degrees F. for approximately 18-20 minutes.)

MY KITCHEN NOTES:

• No DARK brown sugar on hand in my pantry, only light brown sugar. Added 1/8 cup molasses to the sugars. The result was a molasses flavor that was more pronounced than I cared for and too sweet. I was better off omitting the molasses.

• Optional Step – I combined and mixed the eggs and vanilla extract in a bowl first. Then, I added it to the pan of sugars.

• Optional Step – I combined the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a bowl first. Then, I added it to the pan of sugars.

• My addition – added toasted chopped pecans to recipe.

• Optional Step – I combined the white chocolate chips, chocolate chips and toasted pecans in medium bowl first. Then, added it to pan of sugars.

• I used an ice cream scooper (1/4 cup size, 2 oz) to shape the cookies instead of rolling them.

• I yielded 16 large cookies: I used two baking trays; 7 cookies on one tray and 9 on the other. The cookies spread and touched. Next time, I’ll use 3 baking trays.

~     ~     ~     ~     ~     ~     ~     ~

The quick story behind the name for the cookies… Melissa Stadler made these for her boyfriend, who ended up marrying her…the cookies may have had a hand in it…
ah yes, love is sweet…

I want to marry you cookies

~ Carmen
Baking is my Zen
…sweet nibbles for the soul

Photography by Carmen Ortiz. ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.