Happy 7th Blogiversary to Baking is my Zen! and a Quick and Easy Cherry Chocolate Cobbler Recipe

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler - baked (6)

Baking is my Zen celebrates its 7th Blogiversary today ~ January 31, 2016.

Baking is my Zen’s first blog post was on January 31, 2009, via Blogger.com.
As of 2/1/12, its been hosted on WordPress.

Memory Lane ~ Blogiversaries for Baking is my Zen
1st Blogiversary – January 31, 2010
2nd Blogiversary – January 31, 2011
3rd Blogiversary – January 31, 2012
4th Blogiversary – January 31, 2013
5th Blogiversary – January 31, 2014
6th Blogiversary – January 31, 2015

What’s up for this year in my baking kitchen?
What I will do is post one recipe per month.
Yup, no pressure.
Instead of posting recipes for the sake of posting recipes,
will post recipes that I truly like.
My blog will be my go to place for my personal favorites.
Baking, taking photos, and posting photo tutorials takes a lot of time.
Since this is not an income producing blog,
I want to keep my blogging a fun project…so will post whenever I desire to post,
with a goal of only one post a month.
Feels freeing already!

I like to bake complicated recipes.
However, I also like SUPER EASY recipes too.
Today’s recipe is super easy!
Easy Peasy. No mixer required!
For as much as I love my Kitchen-Aid mixer,
I love when I don’t have to lug it onto my kitchen counter.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler - baked (2)

The twist I added to this Cherry Cobbler was the addition of chocolate.
If you like cherries and chocolate, you’ll like this.
I used chocolate syrup. Next time, I’ll add more chocolate.
Chocolate chips might also be a nice idea to try.

For tender biscuit dough, I use cold ingredients…cold butter, cold milk, cold flour.
Cold butter is incorporated into the dry ingredients with a pastry blender.
The idea is to keep the ingredients as cold as possible.
Pssst…I even chill my pastry blender. Oh yea.
The liquid is incorporated into the dry ingredients very gingerly and quickly.
No over-mixing allowed…that is, if you want flaky biscuits!
I sprinkle turbinado sugar over the biscuits before baking. Love the crunch!

JUST A NOTE: From the Comstock brand for the cherry filling , I encountered 3 pits.
I will switch to another brand going forward. That was unsettling to find.

Come…let’s bake some Cobbler…

Quick and Easy Cherry Chocolate Cobbler

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler - baked (4)

by Carmen Ortiz of Baking is my Zen

TOTAL TIME: Prep: 20 min. Bake: 30 min.
MAKES: 8 servings

INGREDIENTS:

CHERRY FILLING:
Pam spray
1 can cherry filling [21 oz can]
½  teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon butter, cold, cut in 8 small pieces

CHOCOLATE:
Chocolate syrup [as much as you like-or use chocolate chips]

BISCUITS:
1 cup all-purpose flour, chilled
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons butter, cold, cut in small pieces
1/2 cup whole milk, cold

TOPPING:
Turbinado Sugar

DIRECTIONS:

    1. PREHEAT OVEN to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
    2. CUT BUTTER: For cherry filling: cut 1 tablespoon butter into 8 pieces. Put in fridge. For dough: cut 3 tablespoons butter into small pieces. Put in fridge.
    3. PREP PAN/CHERRY FILLING: Spray a 9 inch pan lightly with PAM oil. Spread cherry filling in pan.
    4. POUR CHOCOLATE SYRUP over the cherry filling. [or use chocolate chips]
    5. CINNAMON: Sprinkle ground cinnamon lightly over cherry filling.
    6. BUTTER: Dot the cherry filling with 8 small pats of butter where the biscuit dough will be placed.
    7. BISCUIT DOUGH: Combine flour, granulated sugar, baking powder and salt. Mix. Cut in butter with pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Fold in milk just until moistened.
    8. ADD DOUGH TO CHERRY FILLING: Drop 8 spoonfuls of dough over the 8 pats of butter in the cherry filling.
    9. SPRINKLE TURBINADO SUGAR over the biscuits.
    10. BAKE at 400° for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown.
    11. COOLING RACK: Place on cooling rack to cool slightly.
    12. SERVE warm. Serve with ice cream if desired.
    13. Yield: 8 servings.

Recipe inspiration: Taste of Home

RECIPE PHOTO TUTORIAL
BY CARMEN ORTIZ

Quick and Easy Cherry Chocolate Cobbler

DIRECTIONS:

PREHEAT OVEN to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

CUT BUTTER: For cherry filling: cut 1 tablespoon butter into 8 pieces. Put in fridge. For dough: cut 3 tablespoons butter into small pieces. Put in fridge.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (1)

PREP PAN/CHERRY FILLING: Spray a 9 inch pan lightly with PAM oil. Spread cherry filling in pan.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (2)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (3)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (4)

POUR CHOCOLATE SYRUP over the cherry filling. [or use chocolate chips]

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (5)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (6)

CINNAMON: Sprinkle ground cinnamon lightly over cherry filling.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (7)

BUTTER: Dot the cherry filling with 8 small pats of butter where the biscuit dough will be placed.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (8)

BISCUIT DOUGH: Combine flour, granulated sugar, baking powder and salt. Mix.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (9)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (10)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (11)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (12)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (13)

Cut in butter with pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Fold in milk just until moistened.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (14)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (15)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (16)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (17)

ADD DOUGH TO CHERRY FILLING: Drop 8 spoonfuls of dough over the 8 pats of butter in the cherry filling.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (18)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (19)

SPRINKLE TURBINADO SUGAR over the biscuits.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (20)

BAKE at 400° for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (21)

(notice how dough expands when baking is done)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (22)

COOLING RACK: Place on cooling rack to cool slightly.

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler (23)

SERVE warm. Serve with ice cream if desired.   Yield: 8 servings

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler - baked (5)

Cherry Chocolate Cobbler - baked (7)

~ Carmen

Baking is my Zen
…sweet nibbles for the soul
~ ~ ~

For savory dishes, visit my other blog, sometimes SAVORY.
~ ~ ~

Photography by Carmen Ortiz.
~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Blogiversaries, Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.