TWD: Baking with Julia: Hungarian Shortbread with Homemade Strawberry Jam

Seventh post with the group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, and this week’s recipe is Hungarian Shortbread (pages 327-328).

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan. The contributing baker for this recipe is Gale Gand.

Host bakers this week are: (recipes can be found on their blogs)

Lynette of 1smallkitchen

Cher of The Not So Exciting Adventures of a Dabbler…

Stop by the other bloggers posts to see their creations too.

This recipe was easy to put together.

It called for a Rhubarb Jam filling. Never had Rhubarb…wasn’t ready to experiment this go round. So, I decided to make my own Strawberry Jam. Good move. It came out spectacular. However, I will try the Rhubarb Jam one of these days. Will post the Strawberry Jam recipe in another post.

The bottom half of the dough seemed uncooked. I didn’t want to overbake it. Next time, I will bake the first layer for a few minutes before adding the fruit and top layer. Also, instead of sprinkling the confectioners sugar on hot shortbread, I’ll wait a few minutes before adding. It is a keeper for my recipe files…(with a few tweaks).

As promised, I’ll be adding a baking tip on my TWD:BWJ posts.

BAKING TIP:

Did you ever buy vanilla beans, only to find that they were dried out?

Fret no more…use VANILLA BEAN PASTE instead.

I LOVE this product. I buy mine at Williams-Sonoma.

Cost is $11 for 4 ounces. Worth every penny!

Product Description – Amazon

“Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Paste is made with Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Extract with the addition of real seeds from the vanilla pod, combined in a slightly viscous base. It is used whenever the distinctive look of vanilla seeds is desired. Pure Vanilla Bean Paste is used measure for measure the same as Pure Vanilla Extract or to replace whole vanilla beans in recipes…”

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: Please DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Hungarian Shortbread with Homemade Strawberry Jam

  1. jane says:

    Hi Carmen, it looks delicious and thanks for the tip on the vanilla

  2. Alice says:

    your shortbread rounds look fab! 🙂

    Alice @ http://acookingmizer.wordpress.com

  3. As usual, your pictures are great! The round shape make them prettier.
    (´m using my fb account since I can never access through wordpress)

  4. It looks wonderful! I’m not a rhubarb fan – never cooked with it, as a matter of fact, though I do prefer tart over sweet most times.

    The vanilla bean paste is worth a trip, I think. I use the Madagascar Vanilla from the same manufacterer and love it.

    I ran out of week, and didn’t get the shortbread made, as easy as it is. May try it this weekend and bring it to work on Monday. Then again, I may make a half batch and keep it for myself 🙂

    Diane at http://www.quiltbabe8.blogspot.com

  5. Looks great! Again, your photography is amazing!

  6. I love your photos, I think I say that every time, but there ya go! I also love strawberries and I think this sounds soooo delicious! I am going to have to try that next time.
    Amanda
    http://girlplusfood.blogspot.com/2012/05/twd-caramel-apple-hungarian-shortbread.html

  7. homemade strawberry jam sounds great…i’m so looking forward to strawberry season here. definitely give rhubarb a try sometime. i think it’s so delicious (esp in pie)

  8. Oh you should have tried the rhubarb! I am still not sold on the flavor but it was fun trying out something new. 🙂 I like your round shortbread! Thanks for the tip on the vanilla bean paste. This was the first time I had used a vanilla bean and it was dry just like you described. I just did the best I could and put the pod in the mixture…seemed to work out ok. 🙂

  9. Hi Carmen, your blog post is so nicely done. Thank you for allowing me to share your picture along with my TWD:BWJ post. I love sharing other websites with my little following of readers. Hope your week is off to a great start! Blessings, Catherine
    http://praycookblog.com/

  10. Your shortbread looks fantastic. Great photos!

    TwD: Baking Hungarian Shortbread with Julia

  11. sanyaliving says:

    I love vanilla bean paste! It’s great!
    Your photos are beautiful and I’ve always wanted to make strawberry jam!

  12. susanelester says:

    I’ll bet this was delicious with fresh strawberry jam! It looks just perect. I think it would be a good idea to prebake the bottom layer first, as well.

    • Susan of (www.createamazingmeals.com), it was very good. I was pleased! Next time I will bake the bottom layer for a few minutes before adding the additional layers.

      ~Carmen

  13. I like how you cut them into rounds! Perfect for a tea party:)

  14. Beautiful, Carmen! I have not tried vanilla bean past yet, but will pick up a bottle the next time I see it. Thanks!

  15. Teresa says:

    Do try the rhubarb jam with this some time – the tartness of the rhubarb is really wonderful against the sweetness of the shortbread.

    I’ve been coveting vanilla bean paste for a while now and must justify its purchase some time soon!

  16. Carmen – this is a beautiful post and I can’t wait to try the shortbreads – I am thinking that maybe I should make strawberry-rhubarb jam and mix the two ideas! I, too, love vanilla bean paste and am fortunate to get it right around the corner – not so easy with the rhubarb in the desert! ~David

Comments are closed.