TWD: Baking with Julia: Semolina Bread

This week’s recipe selection for the baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, is Semolina Bread (pages 102-103).

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is Nick Malgieri.

Host bakers: (recipes can be found on their blogs)

Renee of The Way to my Family’s Heart
www.thewaytomyfamilysheart.blogspot.com/

Anna of Keep it Luce
www.keepitluce.com/

Also, you can see the other bakers’ posts to view their creations.

This bread recipe included semolina flour in addition to all-purpose flour. The proofing time clocked in at a minimum of six hours, per the recipe. It ended up being a full day event in making this bread. The rises were not bountiful. So, I extended the rise times. I finally completed baking the bread around 10 p.m. on Saturday night. The aroma was different…I found it a bit strange…reminded me a bit of sour dough bread combined with butter. I slashed the bread slightly with a sharp knife because it seemed to start deflating. Stopped while I was ahead. It probably could have used more bake time for browning. The taste was ‘ok’. No ‘wow’ factor here.  Other bakers mentioned in the TWD:BWJ discussion post it was too salty. I found it to be spot on.

The following day I made London Broil and placed slices of the meat on slices of toasted Semolina Bread drizzled with olive oil. The appetizers turned out great!

Would I make again? Probably not. What to do with the remaining semolina flour? Pasta, of course!

BAKING TIP:

When weighing certain food items, place plastic wrap on the food scale first. It keeps the scale clean and you don’t need to use the ‘tear’ feature or use plates/bowls.

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Baked, Breads, Savory, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Semolina Bread

  1. Your toasted bread looks so good. That piece of meat with the juices seeping into the crumb is haunting me! Excellent idea – Paula @ Vintage Kitchen

  2. I want to try pasta with the remaining flour too. Do you have a favorite recipe? I’ve never tried before… Sharron, http://www.oneclevermom.blogspot.com

  3. Your pictures look great. I actually really enjoyed this bread and will be making it again!

  4. What a lovely post! Your pictures are beautiful and I thank you so much for sharing them with me and my humble post … you are the best! The London Broil really takes the prize! Catherine http://www.praycookblog.com

  5. Great looking meat..my husband would be all over it! The bread looks great too! It was so much work I would not go to all the trouble again.

  6. I am sorry you didn’t care for the bread…it sure looks like it turned out ok 🙂 The appetizer was a great idea…I think that would go over really well in my house! I reduced the salt to 1 tsp and it was fine..in case you try again. 🙂

    • isthisakeeper, It was ok. It’s the many rise times that made it time consuming and not worth repeating (for me)…actually, i liked the salt level. It worked very well with the meat…thank goodness!

      Carmen

  7. Raelynn says:

    Genius (the pasta part that is) I was wondering what the heck I’d do with the rest of the semolina, while I liked the bread, I didn’t love it enough to bake again…yours looks amazing nonetheless!!

  8. Maybe I’ll have to make some pasta as well! Thanks for the idea!

  9. Cindy Harris says:

    Your appetizers look excellent–my guys would love them. Great save.
    We enjoyed the bread, I’ll make it again.
    http://cgharris.blogspot.com/2012/07/semolina-bread-twdbwj.html
    cindy

  10. The bread looks great, sorry it wasn’t a keeper, but that appetizer looks amazing! My mouth is watering!

    Amanda
    http://www.girlplusfood.net/2012/07/twd-semolina-bread.html

Comments are closed.