TWD: BAKING WITH JULIA: Pizza Rustica

Fifth post with the group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia,
and this week’s recipe is PIZZA RUSTICA.

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is Nick Malgieri.

There are two components to this pie: THE DOUGH and THE FILLLING.
This is not difficult to make.  Best when served the day after it is baked. Love recipes that can be made in advance. Translation>> More time for me to do other things when hosting a dinner party.

THE DOUGH

Making the Pie Crust (Pasta Frolla – sweet dough)

* I suggest putting the dough in the refrigerator until ready to use. Otherwise, it is not manageable to work with when warm.

THE FILLING

Put ricotta cheese in a bowl and stir with a rubber spatula until smooth.
Add the filling ingredients one by one, stirring and incorporating each ingredient.                 * I added additional spices (garlic powder, dried oregano, kosher salt, red pepper flakes).

Butter a 9-inch glass pie plate.

ROLL THE DOUGH

Divide dough in two pieces, one larger than the other.
Form the larger dough into a 12-inch circle.
Line the pie plate with the rolled dough.
Trim the edges.

COMBINE THE

DOUGH AND THE FILLING

Fill the pie plate with the filling.

With the other smaller dough, form strips and place on the pie.
Trim the edges and pinch to seal.

Bake the pie.

Transfer pie to rack to cool completely.
For best results, let it firm up overnight in the refrigerator.

I enjoy eating the pie warm with salad greens…so good!

The Pizza Rustica recipe can be found on pages 430-431.
The host bakers (where recipe can be found) are:

Host baker: Emily
Capital Region Dining

Host baker: Raelynn
The Place They Call Home

Also, check out the other Bakers’ blogs.

In an effort to provide useful information to bakers, (since the recipe is not included in my blog post), I’ll be providing a ‘baking tip’ on TWD:BWJ blog posts.

Let’s face it, if the oven doesn’t work properly, all the best ingredients in the world won’t help if the oven temperature is off. The percentages of a ‘perfectly baked dish’ go down considerably. If you don’t have your owners manual, google the brand of your oven to locate instructions on how to calibrate your oven. I own a GE Profile oven. I couldn’t find my manual. Fortunately, I found the calibrating instructions online.

BAKING TIP:
How to Calibrate a GE Profile Oven
By Andrew Todd, eHow Contributor

Enjoy your Pizza Rustica, or Easter Pie…whatever the name…it’s a keeper!

Peace in Baking,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Baked, Celebrations, Holidays, Pastry, Pie, Savory, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to TWD: BAKING WITH JULIA: Pizza Rustica

  1. Wendy says:

    Your pizza rustica is gorgeous!

  2. Kris Barlow says:

    Beautiful post…love all your photos and your creativity. Your pie looks delicious. Nice work!

  3. I love how your “pizza” looks. It’s making me wish my lattice pieces were skinnier. I love the step-by-step photos and the baking tip!

    Amanda
    http://girlplusfood.blogspot.com/2012/04/twd-pizza-rustica.html

  4. Great process photos! Everything looks great!

  5. I love all your pictures. Great post!

  6. This was a great recipe! Im glad you enjoyed it:)

  7. Your photos are so impressive! I’ve never calibrated my oven but I bought an oven thermometer awhile back, sure that it would show me that it was running hot, but no it is pretty much perfect every time. Guess I have to blame previous mistakes on operator error! 🙂

  8. jane says:

    You pizza looks fabulous. I really look forward to seeing your posts!!!

  9. Erin Sutka says:

    Looks yummy. I definitely had something wrong with my dough, yours looks smoother than mine!
    I have a GE profile, will be checking if it needs to be calibrated now 😉

    http://sub-urbanista.blogspot.com/

  10. Karen @ SoupAddict says:

    Lovely process photos – it turned out beautifully!

  11. Heather says:

    What great photos and tips! Your “pizza” looks fantastic.
    ~Heather
    http;//heathersfrenchpress.blogspot.com

  12. I love all your photos and I like the tip you added at the end. Beautiful brown color!

  13. Carmen your pictures are wonderful, as usual 🙂 How do you get the different fonts and colors? I am new to blogging so any advise would be great!

  14. Alice says:

    LOL, maybe THATS why my cookies never turn out??! just kidding, how funny… and annoying that you had to calibrate your oven! Your photos look great, as usual!

  15. Raelynn says:

    Carmen your Pizza Rustica looks amazing!!! Thanks for baking along with us this week!!

    -Raelynn

    http://www.TPTCH.com

  16. Your blog is beautiful to read. I love all the photos and the baking tips. Next project, calibrate the oven!

  17. Carmen, I love the photos, so step by step. I am never good at getting that done. Beautiful lattice, too.

  18. SBaker says:

    I love your step by step pictures! It’s awesome to see the recipe laid out like that.
    -Sarah @ abakersadventures.wordpress.com

  19. Gorgeous photos! What did you think of the filling?

  20. I like calling it Easter Pie. Yours looks wonderful, Carmen. Your process shots are fantastic.

  21. susanelester says:

    Very nicely done, Carmen!

  22. Your pie looks yummy. I think I need to calibrate my oven–I had to bake mine an extra 20 minutes to get the puffy and golden brown look. Now, I have to find the manual, ha!

  23. Beautifully done, Carmen! And I love all your step by step photos…so nice!

  24. Lovely Pizza Rustica!!

  25. fabulous tutorial…better than watching the BWJ pbs episode! i’m sure this was really tasty!

  26. Jill says:

    All of your photos are wonderful! It looks like this was a success for you.

  27. Love the step-by-step photos, and lovely Pizza Rustica!

  28. heathersbytes says:

    Beautiful pie, beautiful pictures! Fantastic job!

  29. Love your pics! You should do this professionally. I am looking forward to your baking tips!

  30. Wow, really nicely done step-by-step! Very impressed 🙂

    – stephanie
    http://this-little-monkey.blogspot.ca/

  31. Hi Carmen, Your pizza rustica looks beautiful. I am in awe of how you arrange pictures on your blog. Do you mind sharing the tip with me? I have tried the “gallery” arrangement on my blog and it just pulls up a blank box … something wrong here. I would love to hear from you if you have time! Thanks, Catherine @ http://www.praycookblog.com

    • Catherine, thank you for your kind compliment. I would be more than happy to share what I know about the photo arrangement. Will email you shortly.

      ~Carmen

  32. sanyaliving says:

    I too am in awe of your blog! I can feel the love and passion!
    Your pizza rustica looks delicious!

  33. cookingjulia says:

    Your pictures are beautiful!

  34. Looks delicious. I’m a little late going through all the links for TWD. Glad I ran into yours, though. I love your photography. How did you write and watermark your photos? I’m looking for a photo editing site now that Picnik is going out of business.

    • Hi gingerskeeper,

      I use photoshop to add text to my photos. I post my photos on flickr. I pay an annual fee for a pro account. But, you can get a free membership (with limited photo upload).

      ~Carmen

Comments are closed.