TWD: BAKING WITH JULIA: Lemon Loaf Cake

Sixth post with the group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia,
and this week’s recipe is Lemon Loaf Cake (pages 252-253).

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is Norman Love.

Host bakers this week are: (recipes can be found here as well)

Michelle of The Beauty of Life

Truc of Treats

Also, check out the other

Bakers’ Blogs.

This cake had me underwhelmed. Sorry…not a keeper for me.

To salvage this cake, an addition of lemon zest, lemon syrup and maybe some lemon icing would probably make this Lemon Loaf Cake recipe worth keeping.

You can find a recipe for lemon syrup and lemon icing on a post I did in 2010 using a recipe called,

Lemon Lemon Loaf.

As I mentioned in my last TWD:BWJ post, since the recipe is not available for readers on my post,  I’ll be adding a baking tip on my Tuesdays with Dorie (TWD) posts.

This week’s baking tip is about having a clean bowl for achieving fluffy meringue.

A great recipe to try, using meringue, is Floating Island, (ILE Flottante). Delicious and simple. And, might I add, it makes for a beautiful presentation. You can find the Floating Island recipe on my wordpress blog.

BAKING TIP:

PREPARING YOUR BOWL BEFORE
WHIPPING EGG WHITES FOR MERINGUE

Your bowl must be super clean and grease-free to achieve properly whipped egg whites for meringue.

• Use stainless steel, glass, porcelain or metal bowls.
• Do not use plastic or rubber bowls.

To clean your bowl: (clean your beaters too)
Pour some white vinegar in bowl.
Scrub using a paper towel.
Rinse.
Dry bowl with a clean paper towel.

OR

Pour some salt in bowl.
Scrub with a paper towel.
Rinse.
Dry bowl with a clean paper towel.

Note: Use room temperature egg whites when making meringue.

WHY MUST THE BOWL BE CLEAN AND DRY?
By Alice Medrich

“Residual grease or batter left in a bowl (or on beaters) prevents egg whites from beating up to full volume. Water added to egg whites (on purpose or inadvertently from a wet bowl) actually produces more volume, but the resulting foam is softer and less stable. Unless a recipe calls for water, it’s best to start with a clean and dry bowl for the firmest, most stable meringue. And use a glass or stainless bowl; no matter how clean it may seem, a plastic bowl can retain oily residue from previous use, which would seriously inhibit egg white volume.”

Click on the cookingclub.com website for additional information.

THE BIGGEST MISTAKES
WHEN MAKING MERINGUE
By Fiona Haynes, About.com Guide

“Metal or glass mixing bowls are best for yielding voluminous beaten egg whites. Plastic can retain fat and grease, which inhibits the volume of the egg whites. Whichever type of bowl you use, be sure it’s spotlessly clean.”

Click on the about.com website for additional information.

MERINGUE HOW TO
By piemaven.com

“Use a clean, dry bowl. The bowl must be completely grease-free – the slightest trace of fat can ruin a meringue. Use glass, ceramic, stainless steel, or copper bowls. Plastic bowls may appear clean but usually retain residual amounts of oils, so don’t use them for meringues.”

Click on the piemaven.com website for additional information.

Carmen

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Baked, Breakfast, Cakes, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to TWD: BAKING WITH JULIA: Lemon Loaf Cake

  1. The cake and the floating island both look delicious. Although I probably won’t make the cake again, I think I should make the floating island. 🙂
    Amanda
    http://girlplusfood.blogspot.com/2012/04/twd-lemon-loaf-cake.html

  2. jane says:

    Sorry you didn’t like this one. As is usual your pictures are lovely.

  3. Wow, that’s some great advice on meringue. I didn’t have any trouble with my lemon loaf, however I promised the bf I’d make him a lime chiffon pie (recipe found in an old Betty Crocker cookbook) and was a little nervous about the meringue portion of it. I feel much more confident about it now 😀

  4. heathersbytes says:

    I agree, it definitely needed something more!

  5. Your post is bookmarked for when I make meringues soon. Helpful post!

    TwD: Baking Lemon Pound Cake with Julia

  6. jennrag says:

    Sorry you didn’t care for this cake – maybe the Hungarian shortbread will tickle your fancy:)

  7. This recipe certainly underwhelmed us the first night we tried it, Carmen, but it developed flavor as it set and I also made strawberry shortcake out of it. Your loaf looks so pretty. Thanks for the bowl prep tip!

  8. Teresa says:

    We enjoyed this best toasted, with a healthy dollop of lemon curd.

  9. Jill says:

    I forgot to try the plain cake, but it was good served with lemon curd. Although, icing makes everything better, so that would be good too!

  10. sanyaliving says:

    Your cake looks great!
    Love the baking tips, I make pavlova on a regular basis so found it very useful!

  11. Wendy says:

    It was a recipe that definitely needed something else. On to the next recipe…

  12. Hello friend! Your lemon loaf looks great! Thank you for the baking tip – what a creative idea to add to your TWD post. I hope to make the Floating Island. My family is begging me to only make one dessert a week … seems we are all enjoying the sweets just a little too much! Thank heavens I gave away most of the lemon loaf so I don’t have to count it 🙂 Blessings, Catherine http://www.praycookblog.com

  13. yeah, i was glad i’d waited till the last minute to make this one, so i could read all the P&Q comments about flavor, etc. i added some juice to the batter and a soaking syrup just to amp it up a bit. good meringue tips…

  14. Looks delightful! By the way, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award 🙂 http://thisbountifulbackyard.com/2012/04/25/versatile-blogger-award/

  15. I left you an award for you in my blog. To pick it up go to http://bearworkshop.blogspot.com

  16. This is a beautiful dessert. I have not really done much of anything with meringue- too intimidating, but I may have to try this sometime. I really loved the lemon bread recipe you posted before on your other site- pinned and save to try soon. So glad I found you from Pray, Cook, Blog’s page. Can’t wait to look at some of your other lovely foods!
    P.S. I really don’t like the login feature to leave a message, though. I don’t use wordpress or twitter and don’t want to login w/my personal FB ;( (I love everything else, though 😉

    Sarah @ Homestyle Cooking Around The World
    http://homestyleworldcook.blogspot.com

    • Hi Sara, thanks for stopping by. I’ll be sure to check out your blog. One note about the Lemon Lemon Loaf by BAKED. It tasted eggy once baked. After a day (or two), the eggy taste dissipated. I, personally, think the recipe by BAKED has too many eggs in it. Otherwise, it was good.

      I’m new to WordPress. Still trying to figure things out. My personal facebook page is not set to public. And, that is intentional. But, my Baking is my Zen llc facebook site is public. I agree with you on the limited way to log in.

      p.s. I took some photos off of my picasa account. Little did I know that it’s connected to my blogger.com blog. Now, if you visit my blogger.com blog, some photos are missing. Yikes! I have to see about putting them back. Hope I can.

      ~Carmen

Comments are closed.