Fried Ice Cream with Pina Colada Cream Sauce…HOT n’ COLD

Yes, I know, it’s hot outside…bring on the ice cream, I say! NO baking today.

I love the ying yang elements in food. Take for instance, the recipe today consists of the opposing elements of COLD, the ice cream, and HOT, the frying.

My first time eating this was at an Asian restaurant. It was made with a sponge cake encasing the ice cream, which was then fried. I was totally impressed…doesn’t take much when the discussion is about dessert…

This is not quite a kid friendly item to make, due to the frying. But, when it comes to eating this, oh, yes, it is very much kid friendly. The coating I used was corn flakes. But, you can substitute using other types of cereal.

Let’s not spend another minute online…let’s make some Fried Ice Cream with Pina Colada Cream Sauce.

I created a Pina Colada Cream Sauce recipe to accompany the Fried Ice Cream. For the kid friendly version, just omit the rum.

Fried Ice Cream
By Emeril Lagasse
Adapted by Carmen Ortiz of Baking is my Zen

Fried Ice Cream with Pina Colada Cream Sauce

Recipe Photo Tutorial By Carmen Ortiz of Baking is my Zen

SPEAKING OF RUM, where else can you use Bacardi Rum?
Try my eggless eggnog, Coquito. This drink is made during the Christmas holidays in our household. But, of course, you can make this whenever you desire.

Recipe is on my blogger.com blog, Baking is my Zen.
Coquito ~ Puerto Rican Eggnog

FUN NEWS:
My photo of the Coquito drink was seen on my  flickr account, and requested by Speaking Latino for use in a post they wrote about alcoholic drinks from Puerto Rico. Thanks to Diana and Jared for sharing my photo on your website.

Speaking Latino
By Jared Romey
The Boricua Bar: A Check List of 10 Alcoholic Drinks From Puerto Rico That You Need to Try
My Coquito photo is number six of the ten drinks listed.
Below is an excerpt from their post describing the drink.

6. CoquitoClosely related to eggnog, coquito is only available during the Christmas season. Egg yolks, cream of coconut or coconut milk, white rum, cinnamon, cloves, vanilla, evaporated and condensed milk are combined to create this sweet drink, most often served chilled.

It is common for people to give this as a gift during the holidays. Pitorro may be used in coquito instead of rum, for a stronger kick.

Stay cool…

Peace,

Carmen

Baking is my Zen

…sweet nibbles for the soul

NOTE: DO NOT use my photography WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Dessert, Flickr-Food Bloggers-Dessert Love, Flickr-Macro Desserts, Fried and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fried Ice Cream with Pina Colada Cream Sauce…HOT n’ COLD

  1. This looks delicious, I am totally trying it!

    Amanda
    girlplusfood.net

  2. Very tasty looking, indeed!

  3. Your Fried Ice Cream looks so wonderful! I have never made it but now I am encouraged to try. Thanks for such a beautiful post and also for the cool drink suggestion~

Comments are closed.